Encyclopedias and other reference sources are a great way to quickly learn about your topic. They will help you develop more keywords to search, as well as pointing you to other resources in their bibliographies.
Visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art, the best source for encyclopedia entries on artists, styles, periods, materials or techniques. Entries include extensive lists of sources.
Access note: Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Indexes reference sources containing biographies of contemporary and historical figures from every field in all areas of the world.
Combines retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to 1946, with current indexing to produce a comprehensive resource for of biographical information.
Indexes reference sources containing biographies of contemporary and historical figures from every field in all areas of the world.
Visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art, the best source for encyclopedia entries on artists, styles, periods, materials or techniques. Entries include extensive lists of sources.
Access note: Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Native American Women
by
Notable American Women
by
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography
by
Biographical Dictionary of American Science
by
Encyclopedia of World Scientists
by
Use brainstorming to come up with key words that will help you expand your search. Try to think of related topics, both more general and more specific, as well as synonyms for all of your terms. For example fashion could become: dress, clothing, costume, haute couture, la mode, Chanel, Christian Dior, etc. A mind map can often be a good way to start thinking of terms and topics:
Online tools for creating mind maps:
