Ask A Business Librarian

Call (303) 492-8367

Terms of Use

Who Wants What You Have to Offer?

Once you've defined your target market segment (for example: long-distance runners), you can use secondary research to determine the size of the segment and whether it's growing, shrinking, or stable.

If your target market is a type of consumer, use the data tables in Mintel reports to define the size of your defined market segments.
If your target market is a particular type of business (e.g., dairy farms), use an industry report from IBISWorld.

Market Research Reports

IBISWorld Industry Market Research
In-depth reports on industries, providing an overview of the industry, outlooks, products and markets, operations and key statistics.
Access note: Please click Log Out button at the top of page at the conclusion of your session.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources.
Mintel Academic
Market research database for information on consumer trends, demographics, and brand share.
D&B Hoovers
Thorough coverage of US and international companies and markets. Market research reports from Freedonia, MarketLine, and Euromonitor are in the industry section.

Market Research for Specialized Industries

Frost & Sullivan
Database of market research reports and forecasts that focuses on emerging technologies, industries and telecommunications.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources.
Passport
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, insightful market reports and interactive visualization tools.
EMIS Intelligence
Analysis and data for 145 emerging markets.
PitchBook
Provides private market data by industry and financing history. Includes startups, VC and PE-backed companies, as well as mature private and public firms.
Access note: Log in required to access full content. Register for a free account with your colorado.edu email address. Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an excel file).

Generate Lists of Companies, Investors, and Suppliers

PitchBook
Provides private market data by industry and financing history. Includes startups, VC and PE-backed companies, as well as mature private and public firms.
Access note: Log in required to access full content. Register for a free account with your colorado.edu email address. Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an excel file).
Reference Solutions
Access to data for both private and public companies, including businesses that have closed in the past five years. Also includes Consumers & Lifestyles and US Jobs/Internships.
Access note: Please clear browser cache before use.
PrivCo
Provides private company financials and revenues, private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, venture capital fundings, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and more.
Access note: Log in required for some functions. Register for a free account with your colorado.edu email address. Individual accounts limited to 50 exports per month.

Related Guides

Subjects

Marketing Research
by Business Librarians Last Updated Aug 5, 2024 1563 views this year
Industry Research
by Business Librarians Last Updated Aug 5, 2024 1297 views this year

MBAC 6052 Capstone Project: Market & Industry Resources