Research Guides: Economics: Data / Research Tools

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Sage Data (Data Planet)
Repository of officially sourced statistical data with visualization, search, and analysis capabilities.
Social Explorer
Statistics about people, social characteristics, and the economy of the U.S., with Census data from 1790 to the present.
ICPSR
Provides access to data sets on social and political issues.
Statista

Statista aggregates statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources.
Statistical Insight
Comprehensive index for local, state, national, and international statistics. Contains interdisciplinary data and reports, and indexes older statistical publications held on microfiche (1973-present).

Government Information: Start Here
by Ask a Librarian Last Updated Feb 12, 2025 142 views this year

Finding and Evaluating Data
by Elizabeth Novosel Last Updated Sep 2, 2025 294 views this year

Government Information: Start Here
by Ask a Librarian Last Updated Feb 12, 2025 142 views this year

U.S. Census Data
Tool to retrieve recent data on the people and economy of the U.S.
NBER
Initial reports about scientific studies from the National Bureau of Economic Research.
Economicindicators.gov
Daily releases of key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S. Census Bureau.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Economic reports about the performance of the nation's economy
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Essential resource for statistics and data concerning labor, employment, and economics in the United States.
FRED economic data
Economic time-series data for the U.S. produced by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

IMF E-Library
IMF publications from its founding in 1945 to the present.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Global, regional, and country-specific economic reports, forecasts, and data.
Global Economic Monitor (GEM)
Global Economic Monitor (GEM) provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, as well as an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts.
UN Data
Collection of international and comparative country data on a wide variety of topics from the United Nations and related organizations.

OCED iLibrary
Economic, social, and government policy and statistics for the 30 member countries of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

SAGE Business Cases
A digital collection of business cases on subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.
SAGE Research Methods Cases
A collection of case studies about social research that are designed to help researchers understand abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies that applied those methods in practice.
SAGE Research Methods Online
Information about writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting data, and writing up the findings. Coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods used commonly in sciences, health sciences, and humanities.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias

Oxford Research Encyclopedias offer peer-reviewed research across a range of subjects and disciplines.
Access note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Paper: Methods Used in Economic Research: An Empirical Study of Trends and Levels
more... less...

Paldam, Martin. "Methods Used in Economic Research: An Empirical Study of Trends and Levels" Economics, vol. 15, no. 1, 2021, pp. 28-42. https://doi-org.colorado.idm.oclc.org/10.1515/econ-2021-0003