Research Guides: ETHN 3501 Theory, Methods & Writing in Ethnic Studies: Finding Primary & Secondary Sources

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Primary and Secondary Sources

Ethnic Studies Collections - CU Archives
Collections available in the CU Archives that relate to Ethnic Studies, including oral histories, student newspapers, photographs, and more.

Black Life in America (NewsBank)
This collection covers the experience and impact of Black Americans as recorded by the news media.
Asian American Experience (ABC-CLIO)
Research database providing a variety of primary sources, including images, audio clips, documents, and video, covering multiple dimensions of Asian American history and culture, along with scholarly perspectives on issues of enduring importance to the Asian American community and Asian Studies researchers.
ProQuest Black Studies
Collection of primary and secondary sources that record and illuminate the Black experience, from ancient Africa through modern times. Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience is featured in the collection.
Chicano Database (EBSCO)

Covers Latinx in the U.S., including Mexican Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central Americans.
Ethnic Diversity Source (EBSCO)

Collection of Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and primary sources, supporting Ethnic Studies.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Periodicals of ethnic and minority presses. Articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people.
Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
Collection of current news sources from Latin America. Provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Titles include: El Universal (Mexico City);O Globo (Brazil);La Nación (Argentina);and El Mercurio (Chile).
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)

Multidisciplinary index to thousands of peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Also includes video content from the Associated Press.
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)

Database of journal, newspaper and magazine articlesfrom hundreds of international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covers 1991-present. For 1969-1990, see Alternative Press Index Archive.
The Atlantic: Direct Subscription

Direct access to The Atlantic magazine.
Access note: Log in required. Register for a free account with your @colorado.edu email address. Resource only available for current CU Boulder faculty, staff, and students.
New York Times: Direct Subscription

The New York Times online.
Access note: Log in required. Register for a free account with your colorado.edu email address. Students will have access until graduation date; staff and faculty must renew account every 364 days. Resource only available for current CU Boulder faculty, staff, and students.

Not finding the article you're looking for? Magazines may sometimes publish content in print which is not available through our online subscriptions. Try requesting the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 (Readex)
Collection of fully searchable 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) (Readex)
This collection features 280 newspapers published for or by African Americans, and includes many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
African American Newspapers (History Commons)

Collection containing African American newspapers published during the 19th century.
Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO)

A guide to articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage spans1969 through 1990.
Black Periodicals: From the Great Migration through Black Power (Reveal Digital)
Collection of periodicals published by Black Americans from the early 1900s to the 1980s. Also included are select titles from Europe, Africa, and the Caribbean that reflect the global dimensions of the Black freedom struggle.

kweliTV
An interactive streaming platform that shares the African Diaspora experience through documentaries, films, web shows, children’s programming, news and more.
Access note: Click "Skip" to access kweliITV directly.
Asian Film Online (Alexander Street)
Repository of documentaries, feature films and shorts that provides a first-hand perspective into contemporary Asian issues through the voices of Asian filmmakers and content producers.
Black Studies in Video (Alexander Street)
Collection of documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Border and Migration Studies Online (Alexander Street)
Primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries.
Caribbean Studies in Video: The Banyan Archive (Alexander Street)
Streaming video collection highlighting the oral and visual history of the culture, society, and identity of the Caribbean people.
Contemporary Global Issues in Video (Alexander Street)
This collection offers a comprehensive look at worldwide challenges with coverage across a broad range of topics, including environmental crises, social justice, and political conflicts.
Docuseek

Independent, documentary, and social issues films. Also includes a selection of international feature films.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection (Alexander Street)
Independent, documentary, and social issues films.
Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street)
Contains documentaries, feature and short films made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics include climate change, sustainability, history, cultural change, and storytelling.
Food Studies Online (Alexander Street)
Includes rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Spanning social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications relating to food studies.
Kanopy

Kanopy offers over 8,500 streaming films, documentaries, educational and training videos from an array of producers and distributors including BBC Active and Criterion Collection/Janus films. All videos work on PCs with Flash, iPads, iPhones, and mobile devices.
Latin America in Video (Alexander Street)
This collection offers original language documentaries about Latin American issues such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education and religion.

Statista

Statista aggregates statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources.
U.S. Census Data
Tool to retrieve recent data on the people and economy of the U.S.
Social Explorer
Statistics about people, social characteristics, and the economy of the U.S., with Census data from 1790 to the present.

For more statistics databases and strategies, see our Data and Statistics guide.

Looking for data and statistics on LGBTQ+ communities? See our LGBTQ+ Studies guide.