Archival Film and Video at CU Boulder Libraries: Film and Video

Performances and interviews on both audiocassette and videocassette that were either collected by David A. Brose, Colorado State Folklorist from 1982-1987, or made under his direction for the Colorado Council on the Arts

This collection contains extensive production material (film, video, and sound recordings) from the 1982 documentary Dark Circle by Judy Irving and Chris Beavers about the social, political and environmental impacts of Plutonium production, largely at the Rocky Flats nuclear facility in Colorado.

Collection includes original and master production footage (video and sound recordings) from David L. Brown's 1992 documentary, Bound by the Wind, on the impacts of nuclear weapons testing on "downwinders" living Colorado, Utah, and Nevada, as well as other global activist movements against nuclear testing.

Production material from documentary, A Time to Say No, covering 1979 activist rallies at the Rocky Flats nuclear production facility near Denver, Colorado.

Video and audio recordings of witnesses and trial proceedings in the case Colorado vs. Nancy Platt Doub et.al., against members of the Rocky Flats Truth Force following demonstrations at Rocky Flats nuclear plant. Prodcued by Pamela Roberts for the film Decision at Rocky Flats: A Question of Trespass (1978). Donated by Roy E. Young, defendant in the case Colorado vs. Nancy Platt Doub, et. al..

Compiled by "Downwinder" Linda Keir, the collections the Hanford, Washington's nuclear production plant and its effects on the region and its residents, Videos primarily consist of news coverage of nuclear issues.

The Rocky Flats Citizens Advisory Board (1993-2006) consisted of volunteer community members who were interested in the closure, remediation, and clean up of the Rocky Flats Nuclear Weapons Facility. Includes recordings of the RCFAB and videos by the U.S. Department of Energy, Rocky Flats Plant Media Productions, Sandia National Laboratories, and others related to nuclear clean up efforts NOTE: Search "video" within the collection

The Rocky Flats Coalition of Local Governments was a cooperative governmental organization consisting of seven local governments representing constituencies that lived in areas adjacent to the Rocky Flats Nuclear Weapons Plant. Collected videos, most produced by the Department of Energy, relate to Rocky Flats operations and clean-up efforts.

Papers of Hank Brown, former Colorado 4th District US Congressman and US Senator for Colorado. Media includes local and national news appearances and interviews, floor statements, press conferences and satellite feeds from 1991-1996. Additional compilations of news coverage of Somalia in 1992, 1993 Brown Budget Plan, 1994 Judiciary Committee.

David E. Skaggs represented Colorado in both the Colorado House of Representatives (1980-86) and the US House of Representatives (1987-1999). Recordings include campaign materials, TV spots, interviews, and town meetings. NOTE: Search "video" within the collection finding aid

Gary Hart served as U.S. Senator from 1974-1986. Media relates to Senator Hart's political activities including Senate Committee Hearings, interviews, speeches, campaign ad spots, and news reports.

Tim Wirth served in the U.S House of Representatives 1975-1986 and in the U.S. Senate 1987-1992. Videos include conferences and panels, radio and TV spots, debates, speeches, and meetings.

From the collection of experimental filmmaker Ken Jacobs. Video tapes include various films and television programs recorded from other sources, on a number of topics. This series may also include video copies of Jacobs' work, including STAR SPANGLED TO DEATH, and video of Ken Jacobs' public talks or interviews

Cecile Starr was a film critic, programmer, and distributor, from the 1960s to the 2000s, with particular interest in documentary, avant-garde film, and experimental animation. Video tapes include original material and commercially produced tapes related to filmmakers Len Lye, Stan Brakhage, and Melies.

From the collection of experimental filmmaker and CU Boulder film professor Stan Brakhage. Includes Filmmakers #105: Stan Brakhage (KRMA Denver, 1986) and nine film reels sent to Stan Brakhage by Bruce Baillie in the 1970s, possibly related to production of Baillie's Roslyn Romance.

This collection includes educational motion picture films, film loops, and production elements created and collected by Thorne Films Inc. for science eduation and other classroom use, on various topics.

From Theodore Cockerell, CU Boulder zoologist and early advocate for the use of film in the classroom, this collection contains moving image films produced by Encyclopaedia Britannica Films, Eastman Classroom Films, and other sources. Films include educational pictures on plant, animal species, and insect species, as well as travelogues and images of indigenous people. Some reels contain original footage created by or featuring Theodore D.A., Wilmatte Porter Cockerell, and other researchers. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections

From the collection of CU Boulder astro-geophysicist Walter Orr Roberts, this collection includes collected science films, filmed lectures, and footage of cloud formations and solar flares, mostly on the topics of atmospheric science and the sun. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections

From the collection of writer, photographer, and inventor Henry M. Lester, collection contains 23 film reels created or collected throughout his career. Lester's film work was often focused on close-up and slow-motion photography for scientific, industrial, medical, and military research

Collection includes five films produced by Gilbert Film Associates and/or distributed by Essentia films - A Thousand Suns (1974), Galactic Garden: A View of Renewability (1980), Where All Things Belong (circa 1984), Energy from the Day Star (undated), and the Happy Tuesday Recycling Jug Band (1977). Films touch on topics of nature, conservation, and renwable energy.

In her later career, poet and mystic feminist Ann Roy worked to translate books and articles about the Sandinista revolution in Nicaragua (like Los Tambores de Monimbo by Cesar Arias); and gathered testimonies from Nicaragua and the Zapatistas under the nom de plume of Fair Witness. Videos, collected from other sources, primarily concern issues of Zapatistas, war, protest, and displacement of indigenous peoples in Chiapas, Mexico and Nicaragua.

Audio/video materials contain testimonies, street scenes, exhumations, news broadcasts, and trial conducted in El Salvador during 1987-1989.

Humanitas International Human Rights Committee was organized by Joan Baez in 1979. Film and videos include interviews with Joan Baez and programs on humanitarian rights including works on Argentia, Nicaragua, Cambodia, Indo China refugees, and nuclear issues

Founded in 1985, the Marin Inerfaith Task Force was a grassroots human rights organzation supporting social justice movements in Latin American and the Caribbean. Videos concern social justice movements in Latin America and the Caribbean, including Repatriating Communities in El Salvador, En Sus Palabras C.D.H.E.S., El Salvador Human Rights Violations 1988-9, and Colomoncagua El Nuevo Amonecer among others

Includes videos documenting the activities of this human rights non-governmental organization in the 1980s, including local and national news coverage.

Rabbi Zalman Schachter-Shalomi (1924-2014) is considered one of the most significant Jewish spiritual leaders of the 20th and 21st centuries, founder of the Jewish Renewal and Spiritual Eldering movements. Video materials include homiletic, conversational, and academic content. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections

Includes 110 episodes of television interview program Mosaic, hosted by Alan Lew, broadcast on KPIX Channel 5 in San Francisco, featuring rabbis, scholars, and other experts on a variety of topics related to contemporary Jewish issues.

Primarily events and speaking engagements featuring Matthew Fox, theologian, priest, author, and activist whose theology endorsed Creation Spirituality. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections

From the Harry Mazal Holocaust Library. Collection of commercial film and video programs about the Holocaust, Nuremberg, and war crime trials, as well as personal footage of concentration camps and gas chambers

Rabbi Leah Novick was a founding member of OHALAH: Association of Rabbis for Jewish Renewal, active in political causes and the Women's Movement. Includes video recordings of sermons and other spiritual events

Videos that cover the Curriculum Vitae and interviews from officers from the US Navy Japanese/Oriental Language School at the University of Colorado during World War II, prepared for Deciphering The Rising Sun (1999-2002), as well as audio and video tapes of various interviews, conference proceedings, and programs relating to Japanese Language and the Pacific theatre.

From William J. Hudson, alumnus of the US Navy Japanese/Oriental Language School. Includes videos of US Navy Language School 50th Anniversary Reunion in Boulder (1992) and Navy WAVES 50-Year Reunion (1993)

This collection contains material from NBC foreign war correspondent John H. Rich, Jr.

A labor leader in the International Union of Mine, Mill, and Smelter Workers (IUMMSW), active in th 1950 Empire Zinc Mine Strike and appearing in the 1954 film Salt of the Earth about the strike. Videos include discussions of Salt of the Earth, Celluoid Images: Borderlands on Film, various speaking engagements, an interview with Robert Anderson at Mills College, ACLU Lifetime Achievement Award, "Ginger: A Miner's Dissent," and "Many Faces of Paper."

The Coal Project was initiated in 1974 by two University of Colorado graduate students, Eric Margolis and Ron McMahan, who conducted video interviews with former Colorado coal miners. A three volume video was produced from the raw data telling the story of coal mining in Colorado from the northern fields to the southern fields. One volume, "Out of the Depths," aired nationwide as an episode of the PBS series "A Walk Through the 20th Century with Bill Moyers" in 1984. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections

The Joesph M. Graham Collection contains information and records related to conditions of hard rock mining in the Southwest, including interviews with members of the nternational Union of Mine, Mill, and Smelter Workers. Includes a video produced by the United Farm Workers of America titled "The Wrath of Grapes"

Includes prints of educational and publicity films on labor, social programs, and other political issues, produced by the AFL-CIO and Colorado Labor Council, including episode of 1966 program Labor's Language (KBTV Channel 9) featuring guests Cesar Chavez and Denver-area activist Corky Gonzales

Collection contains original International Typographical Union publicity and training films, as well as extensive original production elements, soundtracks, and outtakes from major productions. Includes footage of various ITU Conventions in the 1960s, as well as films related to the Union Printers' Home and ITU Training Center in Colorado Springs; emerging newspaper and magazine printing and mailing technologies around the country; and labor strikes by newspaper workers in Portland and Los Angeles in the 1960s.

The collection includes public service announcements and promotional film and videos about National Farmers Union (NFU) and Green Thumb programs, recordings of NFU conventions and political speeches, and other films and videos on issues of interest to global and domestic farmers and farm owners. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections

Green Thumb, Inc. was an organization that employed older Americans and persons from low-income households, funded by the federal government and sponsored by the National Farmers Union. Includes promotional and informational film and videos by Green Thumb and related organizations, including material related to 1998-2004 "Prime Time Awards," an award ceremony for older workers. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections, under National Farmers Union

Two promotional films from the South Dakota Farmers Union: They Call It All-States (circa 1956) and Farmers Union GTA: 20 Years (ca. 1956). NOTE: Also see Digital Collections, under National Farmers Union

From James G. Patton, president of the National Farmers Union (1940-1966). Includes video related to Green Thumb program (1980) and a Tribute from the Rocky Mountain Farmers Union (1985)

Includes tapes of OCAW meetings from 1979-1989 as well as videos relating to nuclear fuels arbitration.

Includes University of Colorado publicity films: "Rocky Mountain Baseball Camp," "Orange Bowl Parade," "The Product," "The Challenge" and other footage

This sub-series contains moving image film reels and/or soundtrack recordings related to Univeristy of Colorado publicity, including the Medical Center, the University of Colorado Denver, and a series of spots created for the Colorado Centennial in 1976. Reels may contain image, audio tracks, or composite image and audio.

The Office of Media and News Services Collection contains news and media coverage of the Univeristy of Colorado Boulder and its staff and students by local and national news stations, as well as original publicity footage by CU Boulder and a number of publicity shorts. Subject matter ranges from scientific research - including extensive coverage of Eric Cornell and Carl Wieman’s Nobel Prize winning work on the Bose-Einstein condensate and the multiple inventions of CU Professor Igor Gamow - to spots on MTV’s “Tailgate Tour” and a collection of tapes on stuttering intended for classroom use.

Recorded programs include full commencement and robing proceedings for winter and spring ceremonies, video yearbooks, platform parties, and the chancellor's convocations. Highlights include various Histories of CU video programs and a history of "CU Astronauts: A Journey in Space."

This collection contains 32 motion picture film reels featuring original footage of CU Boulder campus events in the 1920s-1930s, including basketball games and parades.

From director of the CU Marching Band (1936-978). Film and videos include footage from the 1962 Orange Bowl Parade, 1970 Gater Bowl, 1971 Liberty Bowl, 1971 Bluebonnet Bowl, and unknown games dated 1967-1969.

The William Loeffler Film Collection consists of 16 mm films of the University of Colorado and Boulder taken during the 1970s. Included are films on the 1976 University Centennial, sports, and other on-campus events.

This collection contains recordings from plenaries and sessions hosted by the Conference of World Affairs in Boulder, Colorado, from 1957-1998. The Conference on World Affairs is a one week event at the University of Colorado at which journalists, scholars, writers, musicians, government officials, and international figures meet to discuss world, national, local and personal affairs.

Series from the Department of Physical Education for Women includes instructional films, records, filmstrips, film loops and slides used to teach various sports for women's athletics in the 1950s-1960s. Also includes materials produced bythe American Red Cross, "Champions on Film" and assorted movies concerning various sports from unidentified sources.

Recorded lectures sponsored by the cultural events boards, plus other various campus-related recordings

Collection includes footage of the Unviersity of Colorado Department of Moutain Recreation/Colorado Mountain Club, reels titled "Mountain Climbing" and "In the Front Range of the Rockies." NOTE: Also see Digital Collections

Circa 1979-1982 compilation of footage, titled "Good Days on the Trail," featuring the Colorado Mountain Club, 1930s or 1940s

This series contains 16mm moving image film prints of published educational films once held and circulated by the University of Colorado's Continuing Education and Extension Center, including volumes of the series "Screen News Digest" and "News Magazine of the Screen"

In the 1960s, University of Colorado astrophysics professor Edward Condon was commissed by the Air US Air Force Office of Scientific Research to investigate claims of unidentified flying objects (UFOs). The reels in this collection contain U.S. Air Force footage used by the Condon Commission for UFO Research

CU alumnus Ira Current, an avid amateur photographer, worked in research and development for the Agfa-Ansco film company in Binghamton, New York. Film in this collection includes original, hand-edited footage, including family and domestic home movies and travel films, as well as experiments with different sound recording systems. Features Colorado travel locations, the Agfa-Ansco company, activities of the Binghamton Camera Club, and images of small gauge and passenger trains.

This collection contains four 35mm nitrate films collected by David Emrich, historian of early Colorado film. The films include promotional travel footageand home movie from the Rocky Mountain region, collected from various sources.

From the collection of Eben G. Fine, Boulder area climber, photographer, and director of the Chautauqua Association. Motion picture film reels include local Boulder gardens and travel footage from the American Southwest

From the collection of CU Boulder history professor Percy Fritz. Collection includes footage of Colorado sites and landscapes, including films titled "Colorful Colorado" and "Beautiful Colorado"

Over his career, 1968 to 1988, Robert Godfrey was a staff member of the Outward Bound Mountain School in Colorado, an adjunct professor at the University of Colorado and a documentary filmmaker, making primarily films about recreation and social issues in the Rocky Mountain region. This series contains extensive moving image film and magnetic audio material which was recovered from the estate of Robert Godfrey after his death in 1988. Few reels contain complete, finished films; most represent small clips of raw audio and video from Godfrey's production process.

Leroy H. Miller (1902-1967) was a prominent businessman in Boulder, Colorado, who took frequent trips around the world. While traveling, Miller filmed different locations in North America, South America, Europe, Asia, and Africa. The collection contains films of his travels to circuses, Worlds Fairs, Latin America, Canada, the Mediterranean, Europe, Africa, and Asia. Some reels in this collection contain footage obtained by Miller from other sources, in addition to his original footage, all shot from the perspective of American and European travellers. Films in this collection often include added intertitles that provide identification, information, and commentary, including some derogatory and potentially offensive language. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections

Collection includes recorded lectures by CU Boulder professor of clinical and "descriptive" psychology, Peter Ossorio. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections

From the collection of Ann Roy, an American artist, activist, poet, feminist, and student of liberation theology. These films may have been part of a fantasy project in Tepoztlan, Mexico, featuring astrologer John Starr Cooke, feminist Margaret Fiedler and others exploring identity and magic, often under the influence of LSD and psilocybin mushrooms. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections

The personal VHS tape collection of American film director and producer Martin Scorsese. The collection includes over 4400 narrative films, documentaries, and television programs recorded and collected by Scorsese since the 1980s.

From the collection of CU Boulder Anthropology professor Payson Sheets. Includes original field recordings related to Dr. Sheets’ Joya de Cerén, El Salvador archeaological project from 1978-2015.

From the collection of CU Boulder history professor Clifford and Therese Westermeier, this collection contains original rodeo and travel footage from Boulder, CO, Albuquerque, NM, Santa Fe, NM, and Yellowstone National Park. NOTE: Also see Digital Collections