When researching a work of art, often we look for previous interpretations of that specific work of art. But most of the times such interpretations don't exist, instead researcher need to extrapolate information from the context surrounding a work of art and make new connections. To start, one should ask research questions like Who made this? What was it used for? What symbolism did it have? What was happening in society at the time is was made?
Thus research into a work of art often starts with more general information about the artists, the period, the style, the material, or the social context. It's the researchers job to then determine how the object relates to these contexts, thus creating new information and interpretions.
Tool to search for scholarly documents across the web, with an added feature of CU Full Text links.
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Covers the history of the world (except for the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Most important for secondary sources on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Content in all fields of religion, representing all major religious faiths, denominations, and language groups.
Guide to contemporary Jewish affairs.
The most comprehensive index of Asian studies in the humanities and social sciences, with coverage from 1971-present.
Index of research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa, from 1900 to the present.
Index of works about American Indians from 1500 to the present.
Useful for human computer interaction. Covers psychology and psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, anthropology, business, law, and similar disciplines.
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, and edited works in the fields of cultural, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture from the late 19th century to the present.
Includes latest scholarship in feminist research.
Essential international index to works about language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Includes the following collection: MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Resources on all aspects of theatre and the performing arts.
Bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications.