Research Guides: Decorative Arts: Home

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Contact:

alex.watkins@colorado.edu

JSTOR
JSTOR is an online archive of scholarly materials and it searches articles through the full text, unlike many other databases. However JSTOR includes fewer journals on any specific subject than the subject databases does, and is lacking the most recent 5 years of articles.

Search the library's books and articles across discplines.

The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts by Gordon Campbell
ISBN: 9780195189483
Publication Date: 2006-11-09
The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts covers thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western culture.

Oxford Art Online
Visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art, the best source for encyclopedia entries on artists, styles, periods, materials or techniques. Entries include extensive lists of sources.
Access note: Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest)
Articles on the applied arts and design.
Bloomsbury Design Library
Bloomsbury Design Library provides international and scholarly coverage of design and crafts, from 1500 BCE to the present day.
Berg Fashion Library (Bloomsbury Fashion Central)
Database of integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Access note: The library provides access to content in the Berg Fashion Library module of Bloomsbury Fashion Central.

ARTstor
Database of over one million high-quality images, useful not only for the fine arts but as a general image resource.

ArtStor Decorative Arts
Guide to Artstor content related to western and non-western decorative arts, including a varied selection of images of furniture, interiors, tableware, textiles, ceramics, and silver.
Victoria & Albert Museum Collections
V&A is the world’s leading museum of art and design, housing a permanent collection of over 2.8 million objects, books and archives that span over 5,000 years. Include architecture, furniture, fashion, textiles, photography, sculpture, painting, jewellery, glass, ceramics, book arts, Asian art and design, theatre and performance.