Research Guides: French Culture through Fashion: Research Fashion

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

The St. James fashion encyclopedia : a survey of style from 1945 to the present
more...less...
Fashion designers -- Biography
Fashion design -- History -- 20th century
Fashion -- History -- 20th century

Boolean Operator	Example	What it Does
AND	France AND fashion	Narrows your search
OR	Fashion AND gender construction OR identity	Broadens your search
NOT	Fashion AND political expression NOT Italy	Weeds out unhelpful items
* (Asterisk)	Marie Marot AND androgyn* clothing	Includes all possible word ending variations
"Quotation marks"	"France's gentlewoman"	Searches an exact phrase, those words in that order

Alexander Street (Alexander Street)
A search interface that provides access to audio, video, and text resources from Alexander Street Press.
ARTstor
Database of over one million high-quality images, useful not only for the fine arts but as a general image resource.
Berg Fashion Library (Bloomsbury Fashion Central)
Database of integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Access note: The library provides access to content in the Berg Fashion Library module of Bloomsbury Fashion Central.
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library (Alexander Street)
Collection containing 1,200 hours of vivid capturing the fashion industry, including worldwide fashion shows, designer profiles, documentary segments, and more.
Harper's Bazaar Archive (ProQuest)
Archive access to Americas first fashion magazine plus the long-running UK edition. Complete backfiles digitized from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition).
JSTOR
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
PERSEE
French language journal articles on a variety of social and human science topics.
Project Muse
Collection of humanities and social sciences journals.
Vogue Archive (ProQuest)
Archive of American Vogue reproduced in high-resolution color page images, from the first issue in 1892 to current.
Vogue Italia Archive (ProQuest)
Archive of Vogue Italia reproduced in high-resolution color page images, from 1964 to present.

Factiva
Most comprehensive source of worldwide local, regional, national, and international newspapers. In addition, you can find U.S. and international company profiles and industry reports.
World News Connection (East View)
Information from non-US media sources provided by the Open Source Center (OSC) a domestic and overseas bureaus who monitors open-source materials.
Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank)
Online access to major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Also includes newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.

Use the call numbers below to browse through the stacks for your specific subject:

“Fashion” - GT 500-2000+

“Fashion” - TT 500 - TT645

“Fashion and art” - GT 529.A7

“Fashion design” - TT 507

“Fashion drawing” - TT 509

“Fashion in film” - PN 1995.9 C56-C58

“Fashion merchandising” - HD 9940

“Fashion photography” - TR 679

“Fashion shows” - TT 502

“Fashion writing” - TT 503.5