The Spanish Linguistics Subject Guide provides access to different types of information addressing the history of the Spanish language, Spanish in the United States, Sociolinguistics, Morphosyntax, Usage-Based Phonology, Bilingualism, Second and Heritage Language Development and Education, Second Language Acquisition and Language in Social Interaction. The list of journals under the tab Linguistics Journals were selected based on their thematic correspondance with any aspect of linguistics in the Spanish language.
A History of the Spanish Language by 
Contemporary Advances in Theoretical and Applied Spanish Linguistic Variation by 
Mi Lengua by 
Sociolinguistic Change Across the Spanish-Speaking World by 
The Linguistic Legacy of Spanish and Portuguese by 
The Pragmatics of Catalan - Catalan-Spanish Language Contact in Social Interaction (Book Chapter) by 
Advances in Spanish As a Heritage Language by 
A History of the Spanish Language Through Texts by 
An American Language: the history of Spanish in the United States by 
A Political History of Spanish: the making of a language by 
Biculturalism and Spanish in Contact by 
Bringing Linguistics into the Spanish Language Classroom by 
Diachronic applications in Hispanic linguistics by 
Diversification of Mexican Spanish by 
Cognitive, Social, and Individual Constraints on Linguistic Variation by 
Formal Approaches to Romance Morphosyntax by 
Functionalist and Usage-Based Approaches to the Study of Language by 
Heritage Speakers of Spanish adn Study Abroad by 
Hispanic Contact Linguistics by 
Inquiries in Hispanic Linguistics by 
Language Variation and Contact-Induced Change by 
Linguistic Mitigation in English and Spanish by 
Recent Advances in the Study of Spanish Sociophonetic Perception by 
Spanish-English Codeswitching in the Caribbean and the US by 
Spanish in the United States by 
Spanish Phonetics and Phonology in Contact by 
Speaking in a Second Language by 
The Persistence of Language by 
Visions in Exile: the body in Spanish literature and linguistics, 1500-1800 by 
Handbook of Heritage, Community, and Native American Languages in the United States by 
Handbook of Spanish Second Language Acquisition by 
Routledge Handbook of Variationist Approaches to Spanish
The Handbook of Hispanic Linguistics by 
The Handbook of Hispanic Sociolinguistics by 
The Routledge Handbook of Spanish As a Heritage Language by 
The Routledge Handbook of Spanish Pragmatics by 
The Routledge Handbook of Study Abroad Research and Practice by 
The Routledge Handbook of Spanish Phonology by 
Spanish Grammar Made Easy by 
Spanish Grammar by 
Spanish Grammar by 
Modern Spanish Grammar by 
Spanish Grammar Handbook by Pop music in the US ⇒ Too big
The linguistic expression of pop music in the US ⇒ It is still too big.
Language contact presence in pop music in the US ⇒ Narrowing it to language contact
Bilingualism in Latinx pop music in the US ⇒ Narrowing it to bilingualism and Latinx pop music
Topic: Spanish language-infused pop music in the US: from code-switching to cultural appropriation
For your "Projecto Final" you will research a topic related to Spanish and Spanish speakers in the United States. Your research question will be related to your topic. This question usually answers a matter not covered by previous scholarship.
Developing Research Questions: Your Purpose
Consider where your questions will lead you. Will your questions:
What is the impact of bilingualism (Spanish-English) in educational contexts in the Boulder-Denver area?
What are the pros and cons of the Spanish language use in public and commercial signs as a mark for the linguistic landscape of the Longmont-Denver area?
Definition: An abstract summarizes the most important content of your paper sequentially, highlighting your research topic, the reason for your study, a basic description of your methodology, and important findings. Good abstracts use the active voice in the past tense and rely on brief but well-structured sentences.
Format: Abstracts are usually formatted in one block paragraph without indentations. Avoid unnecessary phrases, quotes, citations, or ambiguous content, and follow the publishing journal of choice for specific rules. Remember, your abstract should point to the key contents of your paper.
Parts of an Abstract
Descriptives Abstracts:
A descriptive abstract is usually formatted as a short paragraph summarizing your paper's main points and focusing on outlining the work. Sometimes these abstracts include the reason behind the study, a concise description of the methodology, and the scope of the study. Descriptive abstracts do not usually refer to the results or conclusions.
Informative Abstracts:
An informative abstract is usually formatted as a 300-words paragraph containing the purpose of the study, a brief methodology, the scope, and the summary of the results and conclusions. The author can also add recommendations.
Critical Abstracts:
A less used format is the critical abstract, a rather long paragraph containing a summary, main findings, and comparisons with other papers on the same topic.
University of Southern California - The Abstract
Avondale University - Writing an Abstract
Kent State University -Preparing Academic Presentations Writing Abstracts
Royal Roads University - Types of Academic Writing
Consortium Library - Abstracts
For more information see:
Strategy: Get Started - Search Terms - Considering Format and Sources - Selecting a Search Tool - Managing your Sources - Literary Review
\
Bilingual Searches:
The following search samples relate to different topics:
MLA Handbook by 
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by
Lee, Harper. To Kill a Mockingbird. Lippincott, 1960.
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
Llanera, Tracy. "Rethinking Nihilism: Rorty Vs. Taylor, Dreyfus and Kelly." Philosophy & Social Criticism, vol. 42, no. 9, 2016, pp. 937-950.
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.
Lukainoff, Greg and Jonathan Haidt. "The Coddling of the American Mind." The Atlantic, 1 Sept. 2015, pp. 42-52.
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, pages.
University Libraries: University of Colorado, Boulder. University of Colorado Boulder, www.libraries.colorado.edu. Access 1 Jul. 2024.
Editor, author, or compiler name (if available). Name of Site. Version number, Name of institution/organization affiliated with the site (sponsor or publisher), date of resource creation (if available), URL, DOI or permalink. Date of access (if applicable).
Learn more: Citing Electronic Sources
* Note: in works cited pages, the second and subsequent lines of citations are indented by 0.5 inches to create a hanging indent. Learn more about formatting.
