Skip to main content

HIST 2170 - History of Christianity (Jobin) - Special Collections: Introduction

HIST 2170 - HISTORY OF CHRISTIANITY

                                                                                                                     undefined

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

       

 

   

'Dragon Leaf,' detail.  Latin Bible, Northern France, c. 1240

                                             c. 1240. ,  MS 314

                   Special Collections, CU Boulder Libraries

 

This guide provides an introduction to the History of Christianity (HIST 2170) through the lens of manuscripts and early printed works held in Special Collections, Collections of Distinction, University of Colorado Boulder Libraries.  

Special Collections holds a strong collection of medieval manuscript leaves and early printed works. These include one of a kind medieval Christian manuscripts and rare printed religious works dating from Gutenberg's  development of moveable type in the 1450s through works produced amid the Protestant- and Catholic-Reformations of the succeeding centuries. 

This guide includes images based on our collection as well as digitized copies of key manuscripts held by the British Library and Cambridge University and elsewhere.   To navigate this site, use the tabs at the top to navigate by time period and subject.  

See below for links to our collections and other primary sources.

  

Searching Special Collections' Medieval and Early Modern Collections

To search Special Collections, Collections of Distinction's early modern manuscripts and early printed books: 

Digital Library

  • Search CU's Digital Library, which features our Medieval Manuscripts Collections.  Images may be downloaded from this site. 

Chinook Classic

  • Search our early modern printed works through Chinook.  In Chinook Classic, search by title, author, or keyword, then limit your search by location to Special Collections. You may also opt to do an advanced search with more options.  

 

Searching Early Modern and Modern Printed Works through Chinook

To locate a vast array of early modern and modern printed works, available in full text:

Early English Books Online

  • In addition, a title search in Chinook for EEBO (Early English Books Online) will enable you to search works printed or published in Britain or North America between the 15th and the 17th centuries. 
  • You will need to access this database using the VPN or by logging in with your identikey and password. 

Eighteenth-Century Collections Online

  • ECCO (Eighteenth-Century Collections Online) provides access to printed works published in Britain during the long-eighteenth century.  It includes access to over 200,000 volumes, featuring books, pamphlets, broadsides, and more.  
  • You will need to access the VPN to access this data base using your identikey and password.   

Nineteenth Century Collections Online

  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online features primary sources, books, newspaper articles, journal articles, magazine articles, diaries, letters, images, pamphlets, maps, manuscripts, government reports published or produced during the long-nineteenth-century. 
  • You will need the access this database through the VPN using your identikey and password.  

 

 

 

COVID-19 Information for Library Services

CU Boulder affiliates: access facilities during open hours with your BuffOne Card.
 
Latest updates and information about collections, services, loan periods and returns.

Instruction & Outreach | Special Collections | Collections of Distinction

Susan Guinn-Chipman's picture
Susan Guinn-Chipman
Contact:
Special Collections
Collections of Distinction
Norlin Library
N345