Bookbinding Structures: Technical Journals and other Resources for Bookbinding

Artists around the world have lately been turning to their bookshelves for more than just a good read, opting to cut, paint, carve, stitch or otherwise transform the printed page into whole new beautiful, thought-provoking works of art.Art Made from Books is the definitive guide to this compelling art form, showcasing groundbreaking work by today's most showstopping practitioners. From Su Blackwell's whimsical pop-up landscapes to the stacked-book sculptures of Kylie Stillman, each portfolio celebrates the incredible creative diversity of the medium. A preface by pioneering artist Brian Dettmer and an introduction by design critic Alyson Kuhn round out the collection. Presented in an unusual, tactile package with an exposed spine, this is an essential addition to the libraries of book lovers and art aficionados.

With Bookforms, learn an array of traditional and contemporary hand-bookbinding methods from around the world from the instructors at the Center for Book Arts.

Even a beginner can start right out producing uniquely charming and elegant journals, albums, scrapbooks, and more. Envision handmade books to hold your writings, poems, photos, and keepsakes. More than 170 photos to inspire, and hundreds of illustrations to guide readers through the basics of an almost infinite variety of imaginative styles.

An increasingly popular craft trend receives awe-inspiring treatment by a major artist. Alisa Golden (Creating Handmade Books) has created a spectacular guide sure to enlighten both beginners and more advanced students. She provides invaluable instruction on structure--which is where newcomers will focus their energies first--as well as design and content, for those who already have some experience. From measuring and scoring to folding and cutting, from tools for bookbinding to useful media for writing and image-making, there’s a rich store of information on the craft--and a wonderfully wide range of projects, too. Make accordion and flag books, including miniature volumes; side bindings, with cross stitching or laced edges; sewn signatures; portfolios; pop-ups; and other creative styles.

From zines you can fold in a minute to luxurious leather journals and sumptuous sketchbooks, How to Make Bookswill walk you through the easy basics of bookmaking. Whether you're a writer, a scrapbooker, a political activist, or a postcard collector, let book artist Esther K. Smith be your guide as you discover your inner bookbinder. Using foolproof illustrations and step-by-step instructions, Smith reveals her time-tested techniques in a fun, easy-to-understand way.

In the digital world, books may seem like an endangered species, but bookmaking is more popular than ever. Thanks to the 100 ideas in this volume, the craft is now available to everyone. In as little as an afternoon, beginners will be on their way to folding, gluing, and sewing handmade books in a variety of shapes and styles, from rolled scrolls to Jacob's ladders, folded flexagons to case bindings. Complete with photographs of the author's own master books and statements by more than 40 established book artists, this collection is sure to inspire. Culled from the author's best-selling books Creating Handmade Books, Unique Handmade Books, and Expressive Handmade Books, these projects will fuel bookbinding adventures for years to come.

Every year Penland, the innovative school where crafters from around the world come to hone their skills, offers a master class in the art of bookmaking that’s simply without equal. Fortunately, it’s available to everyone, thanks to this technical and inspirational guide that showcases ten contemporary book artists who have taught at the institution. Four hundred illuminating photographs highlight the crafters as each one demonstrates all the details of his or her particular expertise. Marvel at the beauty of Dolph Smith’s sculptural books, the exquisite structure of Jim Croft’s carved wood covers and metal closures, the intricacies of Barbara Mauriello’s handmade boxes and slipcases, and the secrets of Carol Barton’s playful pop-ups. Reflective essays by all the artists add to the creative excitement visible on every page and in every spectacular project.  

Explore the world of paper crafts with this inspiring book! This guide begins with a section that covers everything about paper, including cool tools, folding and cutting basics, and fasteners and glues. The next section is filled with 20 fun-filled projects, including: - One-sheet books - Lampshades - Clothing - Accessories - Hot air balloons - Origami You'll also find an extensive gallery of artists whose work relates to and expands upon each project. Take a page from this creative guide and start Playing with Paper!

A compelling reference giving authoritative definitions of bookish terms with some 700 clear, free-hand illustrations. Half the book is this glossary; it's followed by a glossary of the structural evolution of binding including Coptic, Islamic, Oriental, North American, paper... A solid bibliography

Beginners and experts alike can benefit from this remarkably easy guide. It starts with a complete list of necessary materials and tools. Step-by-step instructions and more than 260 photos show how to collate a book, sew it, back it, trim it, and then how to make boards and attach them to the book.

Includes a set of twelve binding models with leather and various papers and sewing supports, wooden boards, museum board. This reference set of binding models is based on Karen Hanmer's popular workshop "Biblio tech: reverse engineering historical and modern binding structures". The models remain uncovered and only partially completed so methods of board attachment, sewing, spine lining, and endsheet construction are visible. Each model measures approximately 13 x 9 x 1 cm. The set is accompanied by a 45 page illustrated booklet outlining key structural features of each binding, and providing numerous references for further study. Includes bibliographical references (pages 43-44)
Contents: Simplified binding -- Nonadhesive paper case -- Sewn boards binding -- Split board binding -- German case binding -- Leather fine binding -- Scaleboard binding -- Boarded binding -- Crossed structure binding -- Tacketed binding -- Medieval binding -- Ethiopian binding

Discover what happens when you add artmaking and bookbinding together. With Book + Art, explore the basics of surfaces, images and words in order to create provocative works of art with layers of meaning. Whether you're altering a pre-made book or creating your own, here you'll find both the instruction and the inspiration to get it done. In addition to learning mixed-media techniques--such as how to age paper, transfer images and make your own monoprints--you'll be given step-by-step instruction for numerous book structures including: Single-fold and bi-fold books Simple and extended accordions Perfect bindings Side-sewn books Single- and multiple-signature books Boxes Unbound collections Add the art of the book and the book as art to your own artmaking repertoire today and start making your own meaningful artists' books. Foreword by Judith A. Hoffberg, Editor and Publisher of Umbrella.

Bookbinding may well be a dying art in this digital age, but you can still learn how to do it yourself with this easy-to-follow ebook. In fact, you can reverse the course of evolution and convert this particular digital specimen into a durable, hand-stitched book that will last for generations. When you’re finished, this ebook will truly be "hands-on." O'Reilly Senior Editor Brian Sawyer takes you through the process with step-by-step instructions and scores of instructive photographs. All you need to bring to the table are a few simple materials—including magazines you'd like to preserve. Discover how simple, unmessy, fun, and satisfying binding books by hand can be. Print the pages of this ebook or remove the existing cover from a magazine Create signatures and prepare them for stitching Glue the spine Build and attach the cover boards Cover the exterior and interior of the cover boards

A third-generation traditional bookbinder gives easy-to-follow instructions for making all the major, historically important styles of Japanese bindings as well as traditional book cases--the custom-made folding boxes that afford handsome protection for Japan's exquisite books. The authoritative text, written by one of Japan's leading professional bookbinders, has been fully adapted for Western readers. Both American and Japanese suppliers of traditional tools and materials are provided and substitutes are recommended for items not readily available. For centuries the West has admired Japanese books, but only now can we make them ourselves and take full advantage of their creative possibilities. Stunning and practical, these bindings are ideal for preserving calligraphy, letters, artwork, and poems, for adding a distinctive touch to limited-edition books, and for use as diaries or gifts.

Out of print and virtually unobtainable for many years, this facsimile of the 1950 edition with a new foreword by Maureen Duke, sometime chairman of the Society of Bookbinders, is a welcome reissue of one of the standard books on the craft of bookbinding. It deals in great detail with what used to be called the "letterpress and stationery" branches of the trade and includes sections on finishing and design. The detailed description of binding materials and technique also provide invaluable insight for the conservation of both hand- and machine-bound books.

Re-Bound is a beautiful book on bookbinding with a fun green twist-all the projects use recycled and upcycled materials. This book shows you how to take everyday materials from around the house, flea markets, thrift stores, and hardware stores and turn them into clever and eye-catching hand-made books.