Research Guides: ENGL 1001 Freshman Writing Seminar (Anderman): Journal Articles

Literature and Arts Databases

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Essential international index to works about language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Includes the following collection: MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Literature Online Core (ProQuest)
Collection of English and American poetry, drama, and literature, with criticism. From Old English to current literary works.
EBSCO Arts & Literature
Full-text articles and indexing of academic journals covering a broad range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the following collections:
Proquest Arts, Language, & Literature
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ProQuest)
Literary and dramatic criticism published since 1920.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary index to thousands of popular and scholarly journals, including engineering trade journals, from 1975 to current.
JSTOR
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Project Muse
Collection of humanities and social sciences journals.
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Full-text articles and indexing of academic journals covering a broad range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the following collections: Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson), Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Google Scholar
Tool to search for scholarly documents across the web, with an added feature of CU Full Text links.

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

AND link words by AND to search for all words in the same resource

OR link words by OR to search for one word or another (instead of both/all words)

NOT to eliminate results with a certain term

“Quotations” – add quotations to a group of two or more words to search for the exact phrase