Research Guides: Public Outreach & Community Engagement: Home

CU Libraries Collections

Resources at a distance

Below you'll find some of our favorite open access databases and resources that you may access from anywhere.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
The American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and the WGBH Educational Foundation to coordinate a national effort to preserve at-risk public media. More than 30,000 public media programs are available.
U.S. Census Data
Tool to retrieve recent data on the people and economy of the U.S.
American Memory
Digital record of American history and creativity.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Essential resource for statistics and data concerning labor, employment, and economics in the United States.
Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection
Historical newspapers from Colorado published from 1859 to 1923.
Digital Public Library of America
Brings together digital materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Directory of open-access scholarly journals, strong in the sciences.
ERIC
This freely available version of ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and serves as a clearinghouse for published and grey literature related to Education and related disciplines.
EuroDocs: Online Source for European History
Links to primary sources in the digital collections of archives, museums, etc.
Google Scholar
Tool to search for scholarly documents across the web. Some materials may be openly available while others may require a fee or license to view a full text.
JSTOR Open Access eBooks
Open Access monographs available on the JSTOR platform.

Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Oxford Open
Open access journals published by Oxford University Press.
Rocky Mountain Online Archive
Information about archival collections in Colorado, New Mexico, and Wyoming. Tool to discover what historical materials are available for study and where they are located.
SciELO
Bibliographic database and digital library, as well as a cooperative electronic publishing model, of open access journals.
Science.Gov
Science.gov is an interagency initiative of 19 U.S. government science organizations, a gateway to government science information and research results.
UN Data
Collection of international and comparative country data on a wide variety of topics from the United Nations and related organizations.

CORE
Search open access papers from around the world.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR Open Content
Open access journal articles and books.
Social Science Research Network
Pre-print repository from SSRN´s. Provides 950,733 research papers from 503,172 researchers in more than 65 disciplines.
Arxiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,965,396 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
More openly available resources

Libraries in Colorado & Wyoming: Prospector

Prospector: is a group of regional libraries, which gives you access to 32 million books, journals, DVDs, CDs, videos and other materials. With a single search you can find and borrow materials. Most items check-out for 3 weeks with one renewal allowed; most a/v media items check-out for 1 week with no renewal.

Do you have a library card for one of the Prospector participating public libraries? If so, you may request most CU materials through Prospector and have them delivered to a branch near you.

List of Prospector Libraries

If you are in the area, we'd love for you to visit!
The University Libraries on the CU Boulder campus has the largest library collection in the Rocky Mountain region—more than 12 million books, periodicals, government publications, audio-visual materials, microforms, maps, manuscripts, papers and electronic resources. Our libraries offer tons of research and academic services, dedicated librarians, modern and comfortable study spaces, coffee shops and more!

Norlin Library on Norlin Quad