Skip to main content

Collecting and Managing Your Personal and Family Records

This collection of resources, curated by the University Libraries' Collections of Distinction, contains information related to the preservation of personal and family archives. Learn how to identify, store, care for, and digitize the papers, books, photog

One way to actively capture your personal and family stories is to record oral histories with members of your family and community. Recording sound and video stories directly from your friends and loved ones may provide future generatons with vivid historical evidence and memories. See the resources below to get started recording your own oral histories. 

 

Though recording high-quality audio and video is easier than ever, keep in mind that digital files do not last forever. Preserving digitized material also requires maintanence and attention. See the "Digital Files" tab above for tips on organizing and storing your newly digitized records and media for the long-term. 

Suggested resources

COVID-19 Information for Library Services

CU Boulder affiliates: access facilities during open hours with your BuffOne Card.

Latest updates and information about collections, services, loan periods and returns.

Special Collections and Archives

Call 303-492-6144

sca@colorado.edu

Website

Classroom: Norlin N345

Reading Room: Norlin M350B

 

Image credit: Mike Livoda interview (ca. 1970s), Eric Margolis' Colorado Coal Project collection, University of Colorado Boulder Libraries' Archives