Research Guides: MCEN 4045/4085: Mechanical Engineering Senior Design Project (Riffell): Engineering Literature

Find Engineering Publications

Research findings are presented in scholarly journal articles, and at engineering conferences. You can find many articles by searching OneSearch and the databases below.

Engineering Village Comprehensive database of scholarly literature in engineering and other applied sciences.
Web of Science, Web of Science database Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. Includes some indexing and full-text linking for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Access note: To access the API, set up your account and select "Web of Science API Lite" at Step 3 “Subscribe to an API.” For research support using the API, please contact the Center for Research Data & Digital Scholarship.
ASME Digital Collection Publications from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).
ASTM Journals, Standards and Engineering Digital Library Research about technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services, published by ASTM International. Access note: Does not work well in Firefox. Please use a different browser.
SAGE IMechE Collection Journals and conference proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).

Engineering eBook Collections

Find handbooks, manuals, and other technical eBooks in these collections:

Springer E-Books Scientific, technical, business, economics, medical, and humanities eBooks.
Knovel Library Scientific and technical reference ebooks from professional societies and various publishers.
O'Reilly-Safari eBooks Ebooks about computer programming languages, databases, software and hardware, human-computer interaction, networking, and related topics. Access Note: Public users - Please ask for assistance at a research desk. Public user login page.

Standards

What are Technical Standards?

Guidelines for processes, materials and products that ensure quality, safety and interchangeability of parts
Usually written by industrial/professional organizations, business groups, and government bodies
There are both national and international standards

Find more information about standards at:

Find Standards and Codes
by Emily Dommermuth Last Updated Feb 19, 2024 261 views this year

Technical Reports

You can find many technical reports by searching OneSearch as well as by searching these databases listed below.

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) One of the world's largest repositories of U.S. Government-sponsored research results, with unclassified and publicly available materials from federal sources, Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, and both Western and Eastern European countries. Access note: Must use VPN to access this database from off campus.
NASA Technical Reports Server Publicly available scientific and technical information from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) Federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (ProQuest) Source for finding plain-language EIS summaries, which are designed to inform decisionmakers and the public about projects that will impact environmental quality.

Ask A Gemmill Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat with a Librarian

Call (303) 492-5396

Email libraries@colorado.edu