Research Guides: Environmental Studies: Government Info

Ask A Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat, Call, Text

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Ask Government Information

Chat with a Librarian

Email rad@colorado.edu

Open Access Federal Agency Databases

DOE PAGES (Public Access Gateway for Energy & Science)
Repository of journal articles and accepted manuscripts resulting from Department of Energy research funding.
AGRICOLA
Though a little challenging to use, this database is a key source for agricultural information.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Free scientific publications and reports from the EPA's repository
CDC Stacks
Freely accessible public health publications, funded by the CDC.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature and manuscripts at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Federal Regulations

These three resources will help you understand and track environmental rules and regulations

Regulatory Insight (ProQuest)
Executive branch agencies of the U.S. government write regulations to enforce laws enacted by Congress. Provides the complete history and texts of the rulemaking process for significant legislation. From 1935 to Present.

Regulations.gov
Find, read, and comment on current and proposed US government regulations.
EPA Rulemaking Gateway
Provides an overview of the EPA's rulemaking process and lets you see what is happening along each step, from pre-proposal to proposal to final rule.

Environmental Science and Government Policy

The government plays a critical role in creating, debating, and publishing scientific and environmental policy. From regulations passed by the EPA, to debates held in Congress over climate change, the government has something to say about nearly every issue related to the environment. This section provides a rich selection of government reports, policies, regulations, laws, and debate.

USA.gov
USA.gov is the first place to start when identifying which government agencies do research on your topic. Use this as a starting point and follow-up with agencies as you go

Government Science Resources

Government Agency Publications

Science.gov
This gateway to government science resources finds documents that traditional search engines like Google cannot
Environmental Protection Agency
The EPA is a leader in the nation's environmental science, research, education, and assessment efforts.
USGS Environmental Health
Focuses on the interface between health and the environment. How people, the environment, and other living organisms affect the risk of toxicologic and infectious disease.

Technical Reports

Technical Reports are the results of government funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related studies

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
One of the world's largest repositories of U.S. Government-sponsored research results, with unclassified and publicly available materials from federal sources, Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, and both Western and Eastern European countries.
Access note: Must use VPN to access this database from off campus.

TRAIL- Technical Reports Archive
Another big source for digitized technical reports from various government agencies

Worldwide Science
Very similar to Science.gov, but with an International focus
United Nations Environment Programme
Leading global environmental authority that sets the global environmental agenda and advocates for the global environment.
FAOSTAT: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations Statistics

Custom Google Search

Use the following custom Google search box to look for reports, websites, briefs, and more environmental policy issues from international organizations

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
This website links to resources on environmental issues in Colorado.
Colorado Department of Natural Resources
With publications on topics related to Oil and Gas, Water Conservation, Water Resources, Parks and Wildlife, Forestry, Mining, and more...
BASIN: Boulder Area Sustainability Network
An essential resource on water and environmental issues in Boulder county

Congressional Documents and Policy

ProQuest Congressional Legislative & Executive Publications
Detailed information about Congress and domestic and foreign policy issues. Hearings are good primary sources for almost any issue. Includes

C-SPAN Video Library
This web site contains all of the C-SPAN videos from 1987-today. In here are videos of hearings, House and Senate debates, C-SPAN interviews, and much more.
Citing Government Information
The government information library has completed a short guide to citing congressional information on this website.

Let us know how we did!

Please help us improve our sessions by taking this quick Survey at the end of class!