Skip to Main Content

UFOs: Home

Introduction

partial image of a folder with a coffee stain and the words "unidentified flying objects" written on it.

UFOs, or “Unidentified Flying Objects,” "Flying Saucers": a mysterious object seen in the sky for which, it is claimed, no orthodox scientific explanation can be found. AKA UAPs, or “Unidentified Aerial Phenomena"

Tip! The existence of UFO's and their nature is contested and much information cannot or has not be verified, for now...

Resources

Section: Federal Sources

Tip! Sometimes the easiest way to find government information is to look by agency. You can use Google, search agency websites, or use govinfo.gov or usa.gov.

Tip! Possible search terms: UFO, unidentified flying objects, extraterrestrial life, Unidentified Aerial Phenomena

This is a list of agencies that are often associated with UFOs.

  1. NSA: National Security Agency
  2. DOD: Department of Defense
  3. FBI: Federal Bureau of Investigation
  4. CIA: Central Intelligence Agency
  5. NARA: National Archives and Records Administration

Tip! Often documents relating to UFOs are not publicly published. You can request documents from the Government under FOIA (Freedom of Information Act). FOIA.gov is a good place to start. 

Tip! Many agencies get a lot of FOIA requests and have digital libraries of previously released documents, including the FBI and CIA. You can google the agency name, FOIA, and UFOs to find them. You can also sometimes search their public websites. 

Example: google search for fbi foia ufos

Documents:

  1. PRELIMINARY ASSESSMENT ON UNIDENTIFIED AERIAL PHENOMENA (Released June 25, 2021) 

  2. The Roswell Report: Case Closed (available digitally in HathiTrust)

  3. The UFO Enigma (CRS report - Proquest)

  4. Extraterrestrial Intelligence and Unidentified Flying Objects: Selected Annotated Bibliography (another CRS report - Proquest)

  5. CIA’s role in the study of UFOs, 1947-1990 (from CIA Reading Room)

  6. UFO Research Guide (from Naval History and Heritage Command)

  7. Project Blue Book (from National Archives)

  8. NSA UFO Documents Index

  9. Final report of the scientific study of unidentified flying objects conducted by the University of Colorado under contract to the United States Air Force (also called the “Condon Report”)

  10. Symposium on Unidentified Flying Objects (Congressional hearing - includes testimony from Dr. Carl Sagan)

  11. Unidentified Flying Objects (1600 page FBI document, broken into 16 parts on an archived web page managed by NARA - scan quality isn’t great)

  12. UFOs (from the Air Force Declassification Office)

  13. UFOs and government : a historical inquiry

  14. The Condon Committee (University of Colorado UFO Project 1966-1968) The Archives Collection within the Rare and Distinctive Collections department at CU Boulder has a wide collection of Condon Committee papers!  Search ArchivesSpace for more!

    1. Edward U. Condon Papers

    2. The Condon Case: Papers of Alan H. Shapely

Academic

Section: Academic Reseources

Tip! Below are a few examples of non-governmental research in UFOs. This list is not comprehensive and is meant to help you begin the research process. 

Books

Articles

Fall 2021: Libraries hours, service updates

All five campus libraries are now open. Read about open hours and other important service updates.

Government Information Library

Where to look

Quick Start: If you're not sure where to start or just want to start looking Google is a good place to begin.

 

  • To search Google for Government Information type site:gov and your search term. You can also use the search box below.
  • Another good place to begin is govinfo.gov This is a search engine managed by the Federal Government to search for Government information.

 



The Web Search just Government websites

Databases