Research Guides: Environmental Studies: Scholarly Articles

Scholarly Articles (AKA peer-reviewed)

Use scholarly articles when you've narrowed your topic to a very specific topic or location. Expect scholarly articles to be highly specific to a subject or place.

Recommended Article Databases for Environmental Studies

Environmental Databases

Environment Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive Coverage for Environmental Studies including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)
Includes industrial, technological, agricultural, environmental, public health, and psychological risks. Includes the following collections: Agricola, Toxline
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Interdisciplinary resources on human impact to environment.
ENVIROnetBASE
Practical starting point for finding background research on environment-related topics.

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary index to thousands of popular and scholarly journals, including engineering trade journals, from 1975 to current.
Web of Science, Web of Science database
Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. Includes some indexing and full-text linking for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
Access note: To access the API, set up your account and select "Web of Science API Lite" at Step 3 “Subscribe to an API.” For research support using the API, please contact the Center for Research Data & Digital Scholarship.

Social Sciences and Public Policy Databases

PAIS Index (ProQuest)
Covers global public policy and social issues.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Abstracts and citations to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.