Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
School and Society
- Identify a topic of your own interest
- Connect it to readings and media in your bookclub
- Find 2 scholarly sources about your topic
- Facilitate 7-minute discussion
Questions for Today
1. How can you make connections with life experiences or really different interests and your bookclub?
2. How can you know the best place to look for information on a given topic?
3. How do you know when a topic is too broad/narrow? How can you determine what’s the right scope?
4. What words do you choose to search? What other tips will help?
5. How do you know you’ve found the “good” stuff-- credible, reliable, current, etc?
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary index to thousands of popular and scholarly journals, including engineering trade journals, from 1975 to current.
Contains full-text dissertations, market reports from 40 countries, and newspapers from the United States, Canada, and other countries. Includes the following collections:
The U.S. Department of Education sponsors this comprehensive database of education literature.
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
Scholarly articles in the fields of addition studies, anthropology, criminology, economics, family studies, gerontology, minority studies, political science, psychology, social work, and urban studies. Includes the following collections: Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
Comprehensive coverage of crime and criminology research from all over the world.
Useful for human computer interaction. Covers psychology and psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, anthropology, business, law, and similar disciplines.
Many library databases have advanced search screens like this:
Boolean Searching Tips
||What it does
||Halo AND language ideology
||Narrows your search
||teens OR adolescents OR "young adults"
||Broadens your search
||"music education" NOT "music teachers"
||Weeds out unhelpful stuff
|"" (Quotation marks)
||"multiple personality disorder"
||Searches an exact phrase, those words in that order
(will include possibilities like communication, communicators, communicating, etc)
|Includes all possible word ending variations