Skip to Main Content

FREN 3500 (Murphy / Kilbane): Find Sources

The class focusses on the reading and discussion of current events in the French-speaking world.

Recommended Background Sources

Keywords and Related Terms

Keywords and related terms will emerge from your topic of research. Creating a map or graphic with your keywords and/or related terms will help you visualize them. Keywords will help you:

  • Find information
  • Limit your search
  • Filter your search

Some keywords and related terms for "immigration," a topic in your class are immigrant, immigrante, alient, étranger, étrangère, migrant, migrante, travailleurs migrants, Ouvrier immigré, traversée, exode, déplacement, la réinstallation, déménagement, crise, affrontement, dilemme, catastrophe, and urgence.

Keywords and related terms for "immigration"

 

Padlet Exercise

 

Boolean Operators

It is helpful knowing the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT. These operators help you find information in the university's search platforms and databases.

The graphic shows how the operators AND, OR and NOT work in your search:

 

dog AND puppy = will retrieve titles that contain both terms in your search. 

graphic shows example with Boolean operator AND. If you look for dog AND puppy, both terms will appear in each one of the responses

 

dog OR puppy = will retrieve titles that contain both or either terms in your search. 

Graphic shows that if you search for dog OR puppy your results will have items with both or either term.

 

dog NOT puppy = will retrieve titles that only contain the term "dog." This search will exclude titles that contain the term "puppy."

Graphic shows that if your are looking for information on dogs but nor puppies, you could use the operator NOT to exclude the term puppy

 

Tip: Not ot all search engines use Boolean logic. For example, you do not need to use these operators in Google Scholar or when your are doing a search in Google.

Databases - Newspapers

Detective with a magnifying glass looking at a question mark

Through a library catalog, you can find all the materials the library offers and in all formats. 

Databases are a type of electronic resource that specializes on specific areas of knowledge. You can have a database of images (photography, paintings, architecture,) a database of videos and audio visuals, and a database of news articles around the world. Many databases contain full text articles.

For our purposes, we will look at databases containing newspaper articles.

Primary Sources: relate to first hand creations such as films, archival papers, photography, manuscripts, government paper, diaries or things you might find in our Special Collections & Archives. In other words, primary sources refer to original sources. Many newspaper articles could be considered primary sources.

Secondary Sources: Scholarly articles, published in Academic Journals, are considered secondary sources because they provide commentary and analysis about a primary source.

Search Exercise

 

  

Go to OneSearch and try your own searches or try the searches below:

  • Macron AND immigration AND 2019
  • immigrant OR migrante AND crise AND France
  • France AND "travailleurs migrants" NOT touristes

Databases - Newspapers

Recommended Databases

Fall 2021: Libraries hours, service updates

All five campus libraries are now open. Read about open hours and other important service updates.