Skip to main content

Education Masters: Searching and finding

Finding Scholarly Articles 

Watch this video to hear tips from Linds, the education librarian. Use the Education Subject Guide, listed below, as your portal to more recommendations and tools.

Core Databases

Having trouble getting to Sage Journals? Try this guide to browser extensions to resolve the issue or use VPN.

 

Bilingual and Multilingual Education

Databases for K-12 Students

Ms. Magazine

Popular Magazines

Tone:   Casual and accessible
Purpose:    Inform, entertain
Form:    Attractive, digital, print
Authors:    Staff writers or journalists
Review:    Approval by editor
Audience:   Broad general audience
Content:   News, opinion, short articles

Book image

Academic Books

Tone:   Formal, may be specialized
Purpose:    Inform
Form:    Digital, print
Authors:    Scholars or specialists
Review:    Approval by editor
Audience:   Academic
Content:   Background, overview, analysis

Academic Journals

Tone:   Formal and specialized
Purpose:    Inform, argue
Form:    Digital or print
Authors:    Scholars
Review:    Peer review
Audience:   Academic
Content:   Research, analysis, 10+pages 

 

 

 

 

Dance Teacher Magazine

Trade Magazines

Tone:   Understandable within profession
Purpose:    Inform 
Form:    Digital or print
Authors:    Staff writers or specialists
Review:    Editor; professional associations
Audience:   Targeted practitioners
Content:   Reviews, trends, case studies

government publication

Government information

Tone:   Formal
Purpose:    News, Inform
Form:    Digital or print
Authors:    Varies
Review:    Approval by editor
Audience:   Politicians, citizens
Content:   Policy, analysis, legislation

 

Newspapers

Tone:   Casual and accessible
Purpose:    Inform, entertain
Form:    Digital, print 
Authors:    Staff writers or journalists
Review:    Approval by editor
Audience:   Broad general audience
Content:   Current, brief, news, events

 

Search by Formats

Primary Sources
Photography
Poetry
Newspapers
Maps
Images
Government Info
fiction
Art
Data
Career

As you research, you will likely use a number of types of information. As you consider your needs, your audiences, and the type of evidence, you may wish to narrow your searching to one type of information. In the next few pages, we'll look at some strategies for locating books and articles. Let's begin with books. 

 

Books

There are several search tools for finding books.

Chinook OneSearch

Using OneSearch Advanced functions, you may refine your search by title, author, year, language and much more.   

Chinook Classic

Chinook Classic is the legacy catalog interface for CU collections. Try the advanced functions to refine your search.   

The quickest way to receive materials not available at CU. Request materials that are not available, checked-out, or missing. Prospector is a group of Colorado and Wyoming Libraries.

Prospector FAQ 

Borrow materials and get scans from libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to find what you’re looking for and request a loan through ILLiad. 

 

 Interlibrary Loan FAQ 

We recommend starting with Onesearch!

You may also search and locate ebooks through the library system. Simply search and locate the text, follow the links to full text, enter your identikey and begin reading. 

Start searching now:

We also have a few e-book collections that are searchable in the following search tools:

Access Full-text from OneSearch

To read the full-text of an article, scan the screen for hints on how to read online, or access a pdf.

Select Full Text online then select Read Online. 

Databases

Look for pdf or html linked full-text.

 

Or choose the Find It at CU option & follow links to locate the pdf.

 

Or choose the Find It at CU option & request a copy through interlibrary loan. 

COVID-19 Information for Library Services

CU Boulder affiliates: access facilities during open hours with your BuffOne Card.

Latest updates and information about collections, services, loan periods and returns.