Research Guides: IAFS 4500 Refugees and Migration (Snyder): Find Data & Statistics

Data & Statistics

Migration/Refugee Data
Causes of Migration/Refugee Data

UN DESA The United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs Population Division has information about current migrant stock
UNHCR - Figures at a Glance This is a central landing page for almost all of the UNHCR's data, statistics, and map tools
UNHCR Statistics Database "The database currently contains data about UNHCR's populations of concern from the year 1951 up to 2017 and you can use it to investigate different aspects of these populations: their general composition by location of residence or origin, their status (refugees, asylum seekers, internally displaced persons, etc.), their evolution over time, and so on.."
UN HCR - Resettlement Data Finder " The number of refugees has increased significantly in recent years, as has the need for resettlement. Resettlement involves the identification and transfer of refugees (Country of Origin ) from a State in which they have sought protection (Country of Asylum ) to a third State which has agreed to admit them (Country of Resettlement ). UNHCR’s identification of refugees for resettlement is referred to as Submissions, and the transfer of refugees to a third State is referred to as Departures."
International Organization for Migration - Data Portal "(This) Portal aims to serve as a unique access point to timely and comprehensive migration statistics, which are now scattered across many different organizations and agencies."
Internal Displacement Monitoring Center This organization monitors and collects data on internally displaced persons. They have a large collection of data collection and analysis tools

World DataBank Analysis and visualization tool with time-series statistics from the World Bank on economic, environmental,and social topics. Includes World Development Indicators.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Over 900 economic, social and environmental indicators for 210 economies.
Sage Data (Data Planet) Repository of officially sourced statistical data with visualization, search, and analysis capabilities.
Statista Statista aggregates statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources.

US Department of States country reports Links to the DOS annual country reports on human rights, trafficking in persons and religious freedom

Human Development Report Reports and statistics providing an overview of key aspects of human development. Includes the Human Development Index (HDI) ranking for countries and regions.

Site Search

A site search is a powerful tool for smart web searching and finding statistics. Put simply, this is a Google search that limits results to certain types of websites. In Google (or any other search engine), you type your search term, the search function "site:", and the domain of the website that you want to limit your results to (like .gov or .org)

Example 1:

This site search limits results to websites within the .gov domain

Example 2:

This site search limits results to websites within the UN.org domain

Ask A Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat with a Librarian

Email libraries@colorado.edu

Find Data & Statistics

Find Data/Stats Strategies

Go to the source - ask yourself "who cares?" Who cares about this topic enough to collect data?

Follow the breadcrumbs - lots of stats can be found in the secondary literature. Look for citations to data/stats in articles, reports, and even news

Use Library resources- the library spends a lot of money on subscription resources. Many of these are strictly for data/stats! Check out our offerings in A to Z Databases Statistics