Skip to Main Content

APRD 4403 Advertising Campaigns (Kinner): Alternative Workbook Databases

Alternative Databases

CU Boulder Libraries does not subscribe to all of the databases in your workbook. Here are links to the databases we have and suggested databases for databases we don't have. For databases we don't have, you may need to be flexible and look for slightly different data.

  • MRI-Simmons: Use Simmons Insights. MRI data may not be in Simmons Insights yet, and you may need to look for different data in Simmons.
  • Mintel Academic: Access through our subscription 
  • Ad$pender: Access through our subscription 
  • SRDS: We don't subscribe, but you might be able to use Simmons Insights.
  • Winmo: We don't subscribe, but you might be able to use Reference Solutions
  • Pew Research Center: A public databases that does not require a subscription 
  • Claritas PRISM: We don't subscribe, but their website has some information available to the public

Alternative Databases from Old Workbook's Chapter 4 (2020 and prior)

Refer to the tabs below for instructions on accessing and using library databases for the old workbook's chapter 4 tasks. Please budget 1-2 hours for completing.

4.1 Using Mediamark Research (MRI) Simmons Insights

 

1. Access Simmons Insights

We do not have MRI. Instead, go to Simmons Insights to answer tasks 4.1 and 4.6. Click on this link:

Note, we are limited to 4 users at a time. You might need to exit Simmons and try it again later if the database does not come up right away. Firefox web browser is the best browser for this database.

 

2. Dictionary Search

After you open Simmons Insights, click on "Proceed." 

At the top right, click on "Dictionary Search."

 

3. Tell Simmons What Data You Need in the Columns

In the box on the left with the triangles, each of the triangles are a folder. Click on "CELL/SMARTPHONES/TABLETS." Click on "CELL PHONES/SMARTPHONES." Then click on "CELL PHONES/SMARTPHONES - BRAND OWNED." In the box to the immediate right look for "IPHONE (APPLE)", Click and drag "IPHONE (APPLE)" over to the columns box on the right. 

Screen shot of Simmons Insights with CELL PHONES/SMARTPHONES IPHONE (APPLE) in the columns box.

Back in the box on the left with the triangles, scroll down and click on "APPAREL." Click on "SHOES/FOOTWEAR." Then click on the last item, "SHOES/FOOTWEAR - BRANDS." In the box to the immediate right look for "NIKE", and click and drag "NIKE" over to the columns box on the right.

Screen shot of Simmons Insights with SHOES/FOOTWEAR - BRANDS NIKE in the columns box

Graco car seats does not exist in this database.

PetSmart dog food also does not exist in this database. However, you can look up where people show for pet supplies. In the box on the left, scroll down to "PETS & PET FOOD" and click on it. Click on "PET SUPPLIES - WHERE DO YOU PURCHASE." In the box to the immediate right, click and drag "PETSMART" to the columns box on the right.

Screen shot of Simmons Insights with PET SUPPLIES - WHERE DO YOU PURCHASE  PETSMART in the columns box

 

4. Tell Simmons What Data You Need in the Rows

To add demographics, in the box on the left with the triangles, scroll to the very top of the box. Click on "LIFESTYLE (DEMOGRAPHICS." Click on "DEMOGRAPHICS (PERSONAL INFORMATION)." You can select any demographics you want to include.

A few you might want is Gender and Race. Click on "GENDER." To add all of the categories, in this case Male and Female, click on drag "GENDER" to the rows box on the right.

Click on "RACE." To include all the categories, click and drag "RACE" to the rows box.

You can also include age, but there are a lot fo categories. If you wish, select a few age ranges and drag them to the rows box.

Screen shot of Simmons Insights with age and race demographics in the rows box and iphone, nike, and petsmart in the columns box.

 

5. Run & Analyze the Data

After you've added brands to the columns and demographics to the rows, you can run the data. Click on the arrow pointing right at the top right of the page.

Screen shot of the arrow in Simmons Insights that points right and will run your search

The data is broken out from into different columns. From left you right, you have Total (everyone who took the Simmons survey) which you can ignore, iPhone users, Nike, and PetSmart.

You only need to worry about the index. The index shows how much more likely the brand in your column is to be a demographic in the row. An index of 100 is average while over 101 means more likely, while an index of less than 99 means less likely. For example, "Of all the iPhone users, they are slightly more likely to be female than male because the female index is 105." 

You can also subtract 100 from the index to find the perfect of how "most likely." For example, "iPhone users are more 5% more likely to be female than the general US population."

Screen shot of Simmons Insights showing iPhone users and their gender breakdown

 

You can export this data by going to the left of the screen. Click on "Export." And then click on "EXPORT .XLS."

 

 

4.6 Simmons OneView Insights

Keep Simmons Insights open but go back to the Dictionary Search. In the top right, click on "Dictionary Search."

Find the columns and rows boxes, and click on the "x" in the top right corner of each to clear it out.

Screen Shot of Simmons Insights with columns and rows boxes cleared out using the "x" in the top right corner.

In the box on the left with the triangles, find "LIFESTYLE (DEMOGRAPHICS)" and click on it. Click on "DEMOGRAPHICS (PERSONAL INFORMATION)." And then click and drag "GENDER" to the columns box.

Using the box with the triangles, scroll down to "PETS & PET FOOD." Click on it, then click on "DOG BISCUITS OR TREATS (H)." Click and drag "DOG BISCUITS/TREATS - HH BUYS?" to the rows box.

Screen shot of Simmons Insights with male and female in the columns and dog biscuits/treats HH buys- yes, no, and i don't know in the rows.

Click on the right pointing arrow in the top right corner to run the data. 

Examine the indices among Males and Females. The gender has a higher index for "HH  BUYS?: YES" means that gender buys dog biscuits more often.

4.2 Using Mintel Academic

1. Access Mintel Academic

Click on this link:

Read and agree to the terms of use.

 

2. Search for a Sports Fan Report from 2015

In the search box on the left, where it says "I'm looking for..." type in "sports fans" and click on the yellow magnifying glass

Screen shot of Mintel with "sports fans" typed into the search box and a yellow magnifying glass to the right of the search box.

Scroll down until you see a square called "Marketing to Sports Fans - US - August 2015" which has a photo of four adults in blue uniforms. Click on the square.

Screen shot of Mintel's Marketing to Sports Fan - US - August 2015 square which has a photo of 4 adults in a blue uniform and a few sentences about the report.

 

3. Use the Report to Answer Your Questions

The report is organized with a "Download" section that has some PDFs and data you to download. In the middle, you can click on the gray headings ("Overview," "Market," "Consumer," etc.) to read more sections. It's recommended you review all the sections to find the best answers for your questions, but you might find the following sections the most useful:

Question 1.

Under the "Download" section, click on the "Social Media: Overview" PDF to find information about fans social media use.

Screen shot of Mintel with an Adobe PDF icon and "Social Media: Overview"

Question 2. 

Click on "Search this report." In the search box, type in "football" and click on "Search within report" to search. Under "Consumer" click on "Sports Followed."

Screen shot of Mintel with a Search Results highlighted in purple and "Football" in a text box for searching. Below are a list of sections including "Sports Followed"

Question 3.

Click the back button on your browser to go back. Click on "Search this report" again. Your "Football" search should come up. If it doesn't, search "Football" again. Under "Consumer" click on "Watching Companions."

Question 4.

Click the back button on your browser to go back. Scroll down to the "Consumer" section and click on it. Find "Motivations for and Barriers to Following Sports" and click on it.

Screen shot of Mintel's 2015 Sports Fans report with the Consumer heading at the top and report sections below, including "Motivations for and Barriers to Following Sports" on the bottom right.

 

Task 4.3) Mintel

 

1. Search for a Cooking Enthusiast Report

Scroll to the top of Mintel and click on the yellow "Mintel" logo on the top right to return to the homepage. In the same search box you used before, where it says "I'm looking for..." type in "Cooking Enthusiast." Click on the magnifying glass to search.

Scroll down until you see a report titled "Cooking Enthusiasts - US October 2018." Click on the square to open it.

Screen shot of Mintel's Cooking Enthusiasts - US - October 2018 report which is a square of a woman wearing an apron, leaning over, to cook.

 

2. Use the Report to Answer Your Questions

It's recommended you review all the sections to find the best answers for your questions, but you might find the following section the most useful:

Find the heading "Consumer" and click on it. Then click on "Cooking Influences."

Screen shot of Mintel's Cooking Enthusiast 2018 report with the Consumer section

4.4 SRDS

1. Access SRDS

Click on the following link to access SRDS:

 

2. Search for Consumer Magazines

At the top of the page, click on "Magazines" the click on "Consumer Magazines."

Screen shot of SRDS's header with Magazines and Consumer Magazines links

On the left, click on "Select Consumer Classes."

Screen shot of SRDS's left side of the page with "Select Consumer Classes"

Click on some of the categories Clare is interested in, such as but not limited to: Epicurean and Fitness. Click "Apply"

Screen shot of SRDS's consumer magazine classes with Epicurean checked off.

 

3. Review the Magazines and Answer the Questions

Scroll through the results and click on the magazine titles to learn more about them. To look at magazines with audience information, click on MRI Audience Estimates on the left.

Screen shot of SRDS's "MRI Audience Estimates" checked off

To learn more about the magazines, click on the magazine title and review the information. For example, if you want to learn more about "Bon Appétit" click on the title. Review the "Circulation & Audience" section for some information on the readers' demographics. 

Screen shot of SRDS's profile of a magazine with the Circulation & Audience section link

4.5 Redbooks Reference Solutions

1. Access Reference Solutions

We no longer have Redbooks. Instead use Reference Solutions by clicking this link:

 

2. Search for Advertising Agencies

On Reference Solutions's homepage, scroll down to "U.S. Businesses." Click on "Search."

Screen Shot of ReferenceUSA's U.S. Businesses heading and "Search" in green.

Click on the "Advanced Search" tab at the top.

Screen Shot of ReferenceUSA's "Quick Search" tab and the "Advanced Search" tab to the right.

On the left, look for "Business Type" and click on "Keyword/SIC/NAICS." In the middle of the page, click on "Search All NAICS." Then in the search box, type in "Advertising." The box below should come up with results; click on "54181001 - Advertising-Agencies & Counselors."

Selected "Search All NAICS" with "Advertising" in the search box, and selected "Advertising-Agencies & Counselors" in Results

Back on the left side, select "City / State." Scroll down the page and search for a state. This example will use Colorado, so we will select Colorado from the list.

Screen Shot of ReferenceUSA's with City/State selected, and the state of Colorado selected towards the bottom

On the right, click on the green "VIEW RESULTS" link. 

Screen Shot of ReferenceUSA's green "view results" button

 

3. View the Results and Answer the Questions

To find the number of employees, at the top right of the table, click on a gray down arrow.

Screen Shot of ReferenceUSA's results table, with the first row in blue and a gray down arrow on the right.

Select "Employees."

Screen Shot of ReferenceUSA's blue drop down box with "Employees" as the third selection from the top.

Click on "Employees" again in the header until it's organized from largest to smallest.

As you can probably see from the results, Reference Solutions cannot pull only advertising agencies. You may need to research some companies to see if it is an agency.

 

Reference Solutions links some companies to their social media accounts, but it appears some social media accounts might be incorrect. You can do  this research with a search engine like Google.

 

4. Search for Jobs

Go to Reference Solutions homepage by clicking on the "Data Axle" logo in the top left corner.

Scroll down to "U.S. Jobs / Internships." Click on it.

Using the Quick or Advanced Search, search for a position. Click "VIEW RESULTS" to search.

Screen shot of ReferenceUSA's job search page with "Media Planner" as the job title and "Colorado" in the location field.

You may see results that are not advertising position. You may need to try different search terms to find the best positions. You may need to research some companies and positions to see if it is an advertising position.

4.7 Pew Research Center

Pew Research is a free website. Go to https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/ to answer your questions.

Fall 2021: Libraries hours, service updates

All five campus libraries are now open. Read about open hours and other important service updates.

APRD, Media Studies & Journalism Librarian

Profile Photo
Stacy Gilbert
Contact:
Schedule an appointment for a virtual consultation over Zoom