Skip to Main Content

HIST 4349 (Chester): OneSearch

Library Guide for HIST 4349: Decolonization of the British Empire

OneSearch

OneSearch Tips for Primary Resources

  • Use the Content Type menu on the left to refine your results to a content type that is more likely to be a primary resource

    • Government Document

    • Audio Recording

    • Image

    • Photograph

    • Transcript

    • and more...

  • Click on "more info" for more information about the resource (how to find it, where to get it, how long you can check out etc...)

  • You can link out to Prospector if the item is not available at Norlin. If Prospector doesn't have a copy, then you can try Illiad. See more information here

  • You can request almost any item to be delivered to the circulation desk of your choosing. Sometimes you may be asked to view the item in Special Collections. If this is the case, you will receive a friendly email!

Not in the library? Where to look next!

Do a Title search for the book in Chinook Classic to see if the CU Libraries hold it. If not, your next steps for getting a book are:

If you run in to an article that does not contain a direct link to full text, make sure you have all the relevant citation information. You can print and/or email the citations and abstracts from most of the databases. Your next steps for getting an article are offered via the "Find it at CU" link if it appears in the database, or:

  • Try copy/pasting the full citation information in OneSearch

  • Search for a print copy of the journal by searching Chinook by Title under "Library Catalog."

  • If the print is offsite or the article is unavailable from CU Libraries, you can order an electronic copy under "Articles" through ILLiad

If an item is not held by the University Libraries or Prospector, there are various ways you can obtain it through Interlibrary Loan. Please note, however, the decision to loan items is up to the holding library or archive, and many will not loan unique and fragile materials. How much time it takes to fill the request can range from 24 hours to (rarely) never, depending on the item. Articles are generally faster than books because the loaning library might choose to supply them electronically.

You can initiate requests for all types of materials by submitting a request through the ILLiad inter-library loan system. Log in using your Identikey, and submit the required information for the items you would like to order. You should allow three weeks to receive the material.

Fall 2021: Libraries hours, service updates

All five campus libraries are now open. Read about open hours and other important service updates.

Not finding your book

Fall 2020 & Materials Access

The Libraries are licensing as much digital content as possible to meet the resource needs of CU Boulder educators, students and researchers. See the Off-Campus Access page for more information. Contact Ask a Librarian or your subject specialist for help.

Explore our ebook collections.

Explore electronic journals.

Interlibrary Loan is available to request electronic books and articles.

Effective March 2020: Prospector and Mobius are not accepting requests for materials.

You may use our Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery services to request materials. Place your request using our ILLiad software.

Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery services are available to registered faculty, staff, and students and other authorized users at the Boulder Campus (more information).

Working Off-Campus

Begin for the libraries homepage. Click on a library database or resource, follow the log-in screen instructions.

Access licensed resources  with your

identikey username and password.

authentication screen

Consider downloading a browser plugin for quick access to CU Library resources, wherever you are on the web.

Learn more about off-campus access.