Skip to Main Content

IAFS 4930 International Affairs Internship: Annotate, Write, Cite

Annotated Bibliography

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

It is an organized, annotated ('with notes') list of resources. It includes all of the books, articles, reports, and other types of resources that you read for your project. In this class, it will be used as a tool to help you organize and stay on track of your research.

Why Would I Want an Annotated Bibliography?

You might begin your research in September, but maybe you won't start writing your paper until after Thanksgiving. Will you remember every detail from the articles, reports, and books that you read? If so, then good for you! But most of us need a little reminder. The annotated bibliography is a great tool for you to use during your research.

Annotated Bibliography Elements

Summarize

  • Key points, conclusions, or recommendations
  • Surprising or interesting findings

Evaluate

  • May include questions related to:
    • Author bias
    • Purpose or Scope
    • Structure
    • Conclusions
    • Methodology
    • Relevance

Reflect

  • How does this inform my project?
  • Is it useful? If so, what section of my project is it most applicable?

Fall 2021: Libraries hours, service updates

All five campus libraries are now open. Read about open hours and other important service updates.

Tools to Help You Write Better

 

 

 

Academic Writing  This page provides practical and useful guidance on everything from formatting citations to writing a great introduction


 

 

 

 

 

Owl at Purdue - The Online Writing Lab at Purdue is the quintessential resource for citation guidance. Come here for help with your Chicago, MLA, and APA format guidelines.


The UNC Writing Center - This tips and tools website at the UNC Chapel Hill website has loads of information about every aspect of the research and writing process. Of particular note: check out their handouts on plagiarism, annotated bibliographies, and revising drafts