Research Guides: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology: Databases

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Biosis Citation Index (Web of Science)
Database useful for biotech and biochemical engineering that includes life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Web of Science, Web of Science database
Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. Includes some indexing and full-text linking for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
Access note: To access the API, set up your account and select "Web of Science API Lite" at Step 3 “Subscribe to an API.” For research support using the API, please contact the Center for Research Data & Digital Scholarship.
PubMed
Database provided by U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles dating back to the 1950s.
Access note: Must use this special URL for CU Full Text links to appear in article abstracts.
Biological Science Database (ProQuest)
Access to materials related to the biological sciences from 1946 to the present.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)
Includes industrial, technological, agricultural, environmental, public health, and psychological risks. Includes the following collections: Agricola, Toxline
JSTOR Global Plants
A database of digitized plant specimens.

Animal Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)
Significant papers relevant to animal behavior.
Zoological Record (Web of Science)
Leading taxonomic reference and database of animal biology with backfiles to 1864.

PubMed
Database provided by U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles dating back to the 1950s.
Access note: Must use this special URL for CU Full Text links to appear in article abstracts.
SciFinder-n
Comprehensive chemical database accessing chemistry and medical literature.
Access note: Log in required. Register for a free account with your colorado.edu email address. Must use VPN to register from off campus. Walk-in users please ask a librarian for help logging in.

TAIR, Arabidopsis Information Resource
Source for genetic and molecular biology data for model higher plant-- Arabidopsis.
Treesearch - Forest Service Research Publications
Combination of formal scholarly work and grey-literature reports produced by Forest Service researchers.
JSTOR Global Plants
A database of digitized plant specimens.

Ecology Abstracts (ProQuest)
Papers focused on habit, pollution, and ecosystem management and modeling.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ProQuest)
Good starting point for any scholarly research from an environmental approach.

Birds of the World
Comprehensive resource that provides authoritative information on birds, bringing together scholarly content, bird observations from eBird and images from the Macaulay Library.

GeoRef (ProQuest)
Comprehensive collection of scholarly geoscience literature, covering all areas of the world. Includes the following collection: GeoRef in Process.

Entomology Abstracts (Full archive) (ProQuest)
Includes insects, arachnids, myriapods, onychophorans, and terrestrial isopods.