Research Guides: Linguistics: Websites

Ask A Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat, Call, Text

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Virtual Conference Proceedings, Digital Publications, and Online Sources

Cascadilla Proceedings Project
Online proceedings of a variety of linguistics conferences including Proceedings of the Conference on Generative Approaches to Language Acquisition North America, GALANA, Proceedings of the Generative Approaches to Second Language Acquisition Conference, GASLA, and WCCFL: Proceedings of the West Coast Conference on Formal Linguistics.
Center for the Study of Language & Information (CSLI)
Online publications of the Center for the Study of Language and Information out of Stanford. Includes online collected works, conference proceedings, technical reports and journals.
Neural Information Processing Systems (NIPS) Conference
In 2021, NeurIPS introduced a new track, Datasets and Benchmarks. The first year of that track, 2021, has its own proceedings, accessible by the link below. From 2022 on, the Datasets and Benchmarks papers are in the main NeurIPS proceedings.
SALT: Semantics and Linguistic Theory Conference Archives
The Proceedings of SALT contain articles developed from work presented at the annual Semantics and Linguistic Theory conference, North America's foremost conference devoted to natural language semantics with relevance to linguistic theory. Its audience is primarily linguists, but may also be of interest to and enjoy contributions from researchers in allied fields such as philosophy and computer science, writing on linguistic topics.

Institute for Language Sciences Lab General Repository
The Institute for Language Sciences is the home of linguistic and communications research at Utrecht University. Research at ILS includes: language structure: variation and change; language, logic, and information; language acquisition, processing, and disorders; language and education; and language and communication.
more...less...
More information on Utrecht University's ILS can be found here: https://www.uu.nl/en/research/institute-for-language-sciences
LOT: Netherland Graduate School of Linguistics
LOT is the acronym of 'Landelijke Onderzoekschool Taalwetenschap', the Netherlands National Graduate School of Linguistics. The LOT publications catalog includes all dissertations as downloadable PDF files (Open Access). You can search for the author, book title, sections of the book, ISBN number and LOT series number. Some of these dissertations are also available in print in the MIT Libraries collection.
Native Languages of the Americas: Preserving and Promoting American Indian Languages
A small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology. A compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people that speak them. It does have ads, but worth it for the valuable and extensive vocabularies.
Semantics Archives
For exchanging papers of interest to natural language semanticists and philosophers of language. Includes a number of proceedings in the area, as well as open source papers and other materials.

American President: Presidential Speech Archive
The Scripps Library, through cooperation with various presidential libraries, has been collecting some of the most important presidential speeches in American history. These speeches all have transcripts, and some are available in their entirety in audio or video. For audio, scroll down.
American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
Links to many free online speeches. Distracting ads and interface, but many links. Topics listed on the left. Audio, video and text.
CHILDES Language Data Exchange System
CHILDES is the child language component of the TalkBank system. TalkBank is a system for sharing and studying conversational interactions. The goal of TalkBank is to foster fundamental research in the study of human and animal communication.
George Mason University Speech Accent Archive
The speech accent archive uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. Native and non-native speakers of English read the same paragraph and are carefully transcribed. The archive is used by people who wish to compare and analyze the accents of different English speakers.

Academic Family Tree of Linguistics
Orient yourself within the field of linguistics by tracking mentors, mentees, and the flow of ideas over time.
Association for Computational Linguistics - Anthology
This site is a clearinghouse for the major journals, conferences, and meetings related to computational linguistics.
EMCA WIKI
Comprehensive resource for the field of linguistics; includes a bibliographical database, listings for job and training opportunities, conference information, and related news.
The Linguist List
The LINGUIST List is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world. LINGUIST is a free resource, run by linguistics professors and graduate students.