Research Guides: Economics: Websites

Economic Census Data--profiles U.S. national and local economies every 5 years

Economic Indicators (Census Bureau) provides monthly, quarterly, or annual data on topics such as: International Trade in Goods and Services, Housing Starts, Manufacturing, Retail Sales, Wholesale Trade, Manufacturer's Shipments, Inventories and Orders, Construction Spending, New Home Sales, Durable Goods, Homeownership, and other topics

Economic Indicators available from GPO Access. This monthly publication is prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisors and provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance

Economic Indicators.gov from the Economics and Statistics Administration at the U.S. Department of Commerce, this site brings together the various commonly used economic indicators. It provides timely access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S. Census Bureau.

Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.
Useful for annual time series data and cross country analysis.

Economic Indicators (Census Bureau) provides monthly, quarterly, or annual data on topics such as: International Trade in Goods and Services, Housing Starts, Manufacturing, Retail Sales, Wholesale Trade, Manufacturer's Shipments, Inventories and Orders, Construction Spending, New Home Sales, Durable Goods, Homeownership, and other topics

Economic Indicators available from GPO Access. This monthly publication is prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisors and provides economic information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance

Economic Indicators.gov from the Economics and Statistics Administration at the U.S. Department of Commerce, this site brings together the various commonly used economic indicators. It provides timely access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S. Census Bureau.

Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. The European Union or the OECD provide more detailed purchasing power and real product estimates for their countries and the World Bank makes current price estimates for most PWT countries at the GDP level.
Useful for annual time series data and cross country analysis.

Bureau of Economic Analysis provides selected national, international, and regional data and selected articles from Survey of Current Business.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Find statistics related to US and foreign labor, employment, earnings, prices, and the Consumer Price Index.
Federal Reserve System
- Federal Reserve Banks
- Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) provides access to scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.
- Fed In Print: an index to Federal Reserve economic research The index includes both complete bibliographic citation and a link to an electronic version if available. Indexes publications 1985 - present.
- Beige Book: Summaries of the economic conditions for the U.S. and for Federal Reserve Districts, available online back to 1970.
- Economic Data - FREDI Provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates.
Colorado by the Numbers Source of information on Colorado's economy, population, government, etc.

Colorado State Data Center The state demography office site with data sets used by agencies to forecast demand for facilities & services.

Economic Report of the President searchable from 1996 forward or download a report from 1995 forward.

Also available in print: Norlin Library Government Publications Library and the Business Library: C 3.134/7:2008

Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
UNCTAD - TRAINS (Trade Analysis and Information System) is a comprehensive computerized information system at the HS-based tariff line level covering tariff, para-tariff and non-tariff measures as well as import flows by origin for more than 160 countries.