Research Guides: Marketing Research: Company/Industry

Market Share

Market share is a company's sales expressed as a percentage of the sales for the total industry. You will need a company name, product, or NAICS/SIC code to identify market share.

Gale Business: Insights
Often the easiest source to find Market Share for a company. Search by company name, ticker symbol, product or NAICS code and then look for the "Market Share Reports" on the sidebar.
IBISWorld Industry Market Research
To find market share in IBISWorld, find a report on the industry you're interested in, then go to the "Major Companies" tab to see market share percentages and brief descriptions of the major competitors.
Passport
If you are looking for information on market share in a foreign country this is your best source. Search for an industry, company, or brand and then look within the reports for information on major players.

Ward's Business Directory
If your industry is mostly comprised of private companies, check out this book. Provides rankings by sales for over 100,000 US companies, organized by NAICS industry codes. Calculate market share by dividing total revenue by the revenue given for your target company. Most recent copy available at the Business Library Desk.

Brands

The sources provided below vary greatly in their coverage of Brands. Try multiple sources if you are not finding a comprehensive list of brands.

Gale Business: Insights
This is the easiest source to find a list of brands by company. Simply search your company name and then in the company profile there is a section on "Brands." Once you know the brands if you want more information you can search the entire database using the brand name for more in-depth articles.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
There are two features in this database that help you discover the brands produced by a particular company. You can look at the "Company Information" from the top bar and find a selected list under "Products." You can also read/search the "Company Profile" found under "More" in the top bar. Once you have a list of brands you can also get more information by searching the whole database for articles on your brand.
Nexis Uni
On the bottom of the page click "Get Company Info" and type in company name or ticker. Under the "Snapshot" section in the sidebar, some Companies will have a heading called "Brands".

Products

Here are a few sources for beginning product research.

Consumer Reports
Presents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers. These are independent product reviews.
ConsumerSearch
Product-review editors compare professional product reviews (such as Consumer Reports or CNET) with consumer reviews (such as Amazon.com and Epinions). Contains product reviews, buying guides and comparison tools for consumer products. Ranks top products by category and discloses sources used to compile reports.
Epinions.com
Provides unedited opinions and reviews from user members about a broad range of products, services, and travel destinations. Includes links to professional reviews and buying guides in many categories.