Black Art in America

Covers lives and events that have shaped Black history and culture.
Access note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Biographies, rare books, and historical information on more than 30,000 Black and African Americans.

Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopedia entries on the subject of Black and African American Studies.

Excellent source for art and photography made after 1850, especially for finding articles on contemporary art and artists.

Collection of Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and primary sources, supporting Ethnic Studies.

Essential art history index for finding scholarly articles dating as far back as 1923. Covers all periods and art media. Includes the following collections: Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)

Collection of primary and secondary sources that record and illuminate the Black experience, from ancient Africa through modern times. Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience is featured in the collection.

Periodicals of ethnic and minority presses. Articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people.

This collection features 280 newspapers published for or by African Americans, and includes many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

This collection features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the Black community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories.

This collection contains transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.

This archive is based on original microfilm. It contains FBI reports on surveillance and investigation of Black Americans.

Access to records of plantations in the American South. The collections come from the University of Virginia and Duke University.

Collection of documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

Database of over one million high-quality images, useful not only for the fine arts but as a general image resource.