In an academic library, databases contain scholarly articles and sometimes access to ebooks, videos and other resources.
All academic journal articles are indexed in databases. This means that the database (or the publisher of the journal in which an article was published) have associated each article with words and topics so that users can find articles on topics of interest.
Some databases are subject-specific, which means that they only contain articles from journals on a specific academic area, whereas others are much broader, containing journals from a wide variety of disciplines.
Contains articles from American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications including journals, newsletters and bulletins. It has the current issues for many of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, and a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003.
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, and edited works in the fields of cultural, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture from the late 19th century to the present.
Scholarly reference resource for researchers working in linguistic anthropology, communication studies, education, psychology, and sociology. Offers authoritative coverage on leading figures, major events, theoretical frameworks, methodologies and technologies of modern fieldwork, and leading developments in new research.
This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Covers scholarly journals and dissertations of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
Scholarly articles in the fields of addition studies, anthropology, criminology, economics, family studies, gerontology, ethnic studies, political science, psychology, social work, and urban studies. Includes the following collections: Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Database of journal, newspaper and magazine articlesfrom hundreds of international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covers 1991-present. For 1969-1990, see Alternative Press Index Archive.
Primary sources from significant collections of Indigenous and American Indian materials.
Annette Ross Hume Photograph Collection Bureau of Indian Affairs Records Created by the Santa Fe Indian School, 1890-1918 Census Roll of the Cherokee Indians East of the Mississippi and Index to the Roll, 1835 Census of Creek Indians Taken by Parsons and Abbott in 1832 Charles "Steve" William Merton Hart Papers Chemawa Indian School: Register of Students Admitted, 1880-1928; Descriptive Statements of Students, 1890-1914; and Graduating Class Rolls, 1885-1921 Citizenship Case Files of the U.S. Court in Indian Territory, 1896-1897 Correspondence of the Eastern Division Pertaining to Cherokee Removal, April-December 1838 Correspondence of the Secretary of the Treasury Relating to the Administration of Trust Funds for the Chickasaw and Other Indian Tribes ("S" Series), 1834-1872 Documents Relating to the Negotiation of Ratified and Unratified Treaties With Various Indian Tribes, 1801-1869 FBI File on Osage Indian Murders Great Nemaha Agency Collection, 1866-1873 Indigenous Peoples Newspapers, Iroquois Indians: A Documentary History Janet Owen Laws Collection Lake Mohonk Conference on the Indians Reports Letter Book of the Creek Trading House, 1795-1816 Letters Received by the Office of Education, Alaska Division, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1878-1916 Letters Sent by the Indian Division of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior, 1849-1903 Letters Sent by the Office of Education, Alaska Division, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1877-1908 Letters Sent by the Superintendent of Indian Trade, 1807-1823 Miscellaneous Indian Removal Muster Rolls, 1832-1846 Moravian Mission Among the Indians of North America Papers of Henry Rowe Schoolcraft Ratified Indian Treaties, 1722-1869 Records of the Alaska Division of the Bureau of Indian Affairs Concerning Metlakatla, 1887-1933 Records of the Choctaw Trading House, 1803-1824 Records of the Creek Factory of the Office of Indian Trade of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1795-1821 Register of Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880 Report Books of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1838-1885 Reports and Correspondence Relating to the Army Investigations of the Battle of Wounded Knee and to the Sioux Campaign of 1890-1891 Schedules of a Special Census of Indians, 1880 Selections from Arctic Collection Selections from First Three Centuries of Appalachian Travel, 1540-1820 Selections from Javitch Collection Selections from Plains and the Rockies, 1800-1865 Selections from Trans-Mississippi West Selections from Travels in the Old South Selections from Travels in the West and Southwest Selections from Western Americana Statistical Records and Reports of the Alaska Division of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1912-1941 The Alaska Indian Language Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus The Alaskan Mission Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus The Association on American Indian Affairs: General and Tribal Files, 1851 1983 The Association on American Indian Affairs: Publications, Programs, and Legal and Organizational Files, 1851-1983 The Indian Rights Association (Selected Publications) The Indian Rights Association, 1882-1986 The Indian School Journal (Chilocco Indian School) The Native American: Devoted to Indian Education The Pacific Northwest Tribes Indian Language Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus The Pacific Northwest Tribes Missions Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus, 18531960 The Papers of the Society of American Indians, 1906-1946 W. S. Prettyman Photograph Collection
Provides access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data relating to the history of Latin America and the Caribbean from the early 1800s through the present.
Covers guides and resources for African languages, Africa cartography and maps, African film, African studies journals, magazines and newsletters, media guides, and news sources for Africa.
Includes industrial, technological, agricultural, environmental, public health, and psychological risks. Includes the following collections: Agricola, Toxline
Source for finding plain-language EIS summaries, which are designed to inform decisionmakers and the public about projects that will impact environmental quality.
Comprehensive source for local, regional and national newspapers in the United States, plus some international sources. Strong source for legal, company (including private), and country research.
Scholarly articles in the fields of addition studies, anthropology, criminology, economics, family studies, gerontology, ethnic studies, political science, psychology, social work, and urban studies. Includes the following collections: Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Covers scholarly journals and dissertations of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
Useful for human computer interaction. Covers psychology and psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, anthropology, business, law, and similar disciplines.
Articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and related organizations, covering general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
