Skip to Main Content

Black History Month: From Special Collections & Archives

What Are Special or Archival Collections?

Archival collections are unique, rare, and one-of-a-kind, primary sources that document people, places, organizations, and events in history.  Examples of archival materials include letters, diaries, photographs, moving image films, sound recordings, or organizational papers.  Special collections usually contain rare books or manuscripts.

Both the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries' Special Collections and Archives units are part of the Libraries' Collections of Distinction.  Please contact us at sca@colorado.edu if you would like access to any of the sources listed below.

From the CU Boulder Libraries' Special Collections & Archives

Please note that the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room in Norlin Library is currently closed until further notice, due to the impacts of COVID-19. 

The titles below link to "finding aids," or guides to archival collections, that are available online at ArchivesSpace at CU Boulder, a database of over 1,600 collections available for research at the CU Boulder Libraries' Archives, or the Rocky Mountain Online Archive, a consortial database of archival collections from all over the Rocky Mountain region.  Click on each link to explore the contents of each collection.  Contact the CU Boulder Libraries' Archives at sca@colorado.edu for information on how to view these collections.

Black Student Alliance Collection, COU:2197. University of Colorado Boulder Libraries, Rare and Distinctive Collections.

Other Archives