SPAN 3050 Spanish Phonology and Phonetics: Resources Available

The Routledge Handbook of Variationist Approaches to Spanish provides an up-to-date overview of the latest research examining sociolinguistic approaches to analyzing variation in Spanish. Divided into three sections, the book includes the most current research conducted in Spanish variationist sociolinguistics. This comprehensive volume covers phonological, morphosyntactic, social, and lexical variation in Spanish. Each section is further divided into subsections focusing on specific areas of language variation, highlighting the most salient and current developments in each subfield of Hispanic sociolinguistics. As such, this Handbook delves further into the details of topics relating to variation and change in Spanish than previous publications, with a focus on the symbolic sociolinguistic value of specific phenomena in the field. Encouraging readers to think critically about language variation, this book will be of interest to advanced undergraduate and graduate students, as well as researchers seeking to explore lesser-known areas of Hispanic sociolinguistics. The Routledge Handbook of Variationist Approaches to Spanish will be a welcome addition to specialists and students in the fields of linguistics, Hispanic linguistics, sociolinguistics, and linguistic anthropology.

This book applies recent theoretical insights to trace the development of Castilian and Latin American Spanish from the Middle Ages onwards, through processes of repeated dialect mixing both within the Iberian Peninsula and in the New World. The author contends that it was this frequent mixing which caused Castilian to evolve more rapidly than other varieties of Hispano-Romance, and which rendered Spanish particularly subject to levelling of its linguistic irregularities and to simplification of its structures. These two processes continued as the language extended into and across the Americas. These processes are viewed in the context of the Hispano-Romance dialect continuum, which includes Galician, Portuguese and Catalan, as well as New World varieties...

Introducción a la Sociolingüística Hispánica es un libro de texto imprescindible para los estudiantes de pregrado que cursan sociolingüística hispánica. Cada capítulo está redactado en un lenguaje sencillo y accesible. Sobre la base de un enfoque pedagógico, cada capítulo incluye una introducción, una lista de los temas a ser discutidos, el desarrollo de tales temas, un resumen, una lista de términos claves, un glosario de la terminología clave, una sección de ejercicios y preguntas de comprensión al final de cada sección temática de cada capítulo. Provee una introducción actualizada sobre los temas más relevantes de la versátil sociolingüística española contemporánea tales como la variación fonológica, el bilingüismo, la lengua y las leyes, las actitudes lingüísticas, entre otros Incluye una variedad de actividades para apoyar y extender el aprendizaje de los estudiantes Ofrece un enfoque pedagógico único que incluye ejercicios de análisis de datos. Estas actividades estimulan la  investigación por parte de los estudiantes a través del uso de las bases de datos, la música popular y otros recursos audiovisuales El libro incluye ejemplos de las variedades de español habladas en el mundo hispanohablante con secciones especiales dedicadas a las variedades habladas en los EEUU   Introducción a la Sociolingüística Hispánica is a much-needed undergraduate introduction to the study of sociolinguistics in the Spanish-speaking world. Written in accessible Spanish, each chapter includes an overview, a review of topics, a section of key terms, exercises and questions...

Se centra en la descripción del español y del portugués actual sin excluir ocasionalmente la publicación de trabajos diacrónicos e históricos. La colección tiene como objetivo propagar investigaciones lingüísticas originales en toda su amplitud -de corte cognitivista, psico-, socio- y pragmalingüístico-, destacando particularmente investigaciones en los campos del léxico -descripciones de las interfaces entre semántica léxica y sintaxis así como entre semántica léxica y cognición- y del texto o del discurso...

The historical spread of Spanish and Portuguese throughout the world provides a rich source of data for linguists studying how languages evolve and change. This volume analyses the development of Portuguese and Spanish from Latin and their subsequent transformation into several non-standard varieties. These varieties include Portuguese- and Spanish-based creoles, Bozal Spanish and Chinese Coolie Spanish in Cuba, Chinese Immigrant Spanish, Andean Spanish, and Barranquenho, a Portuguese variety on the Portugal-Spain border. Clancy Clements demonstrates that grammar formation not only takes place in parent-to-child communication, but also, importantly, in adult-to-adult communication. He argues that cultural identity is also an important factor in language formation and maintenance, especially in the cases of Portuguese, Castilian, and Barranquenho...

This accessible textbook provides a clear introduction to the sounds of Spanish, designed specifically for English-speaking students of the language. Assuming no prior knowledge of linguistics, it explains from scratch the fundamentals of phonetics (the study of sounds) and phonology (the study of sound systems) and describes in detail the phonetic and phonological characteristics of Spanish as it is spoken in both Spain and Latin America. Topics covered include consonants, vowels, acoustics, stress, syllables, intonation, and aspects of variation within Spanish. Clear comparisons are made between the sounds of Spanish and those of English, and students are encouraged to put theory into practice with over fifty graded exercises. Setting a solid foundation in the description and analysis of Spanish sounds, The Sounds of Spanish will help students improve their pronunciation of the language, and will also be useful to those studying the linguistic structure of Spanish for the first time. All the sounds described in this book are demonstrated on The Sounds of Spanish Audio CD included with this book.