CU Boulder Libraries does not subscribe to all of the databases in your workbook. Here are links to the databases we have and suggested databases for databases we don't have. For databases we don't have, you may need to be flexible and look for slightly different data.
Refer to the tabs below for instructions on accessing and using library databases for the workbook's chapter 4 tasks. Please budget 1-2 hours for completing.
We do not have MRI. Instead, go to Simmons Insights to answer tasks 4.1 and 4.6. Click on this link:
After you open Simmons Insights, click on "Proceed."
At the top right, click on "Dictionary Search."
In the box on the left with the triangles, each of the triangles are a folder. Click on "CELL/SMARTPHONES/TABLETS." Click on "CELL PHONES/SMARTPHONES." Then click on "CELL PHONES/SMARTPHONES - BRAND OWNED." In the box to the immediate right look for "IPHONE (APPLE)", Click and drag "IPHONE (APPLE)" over to the columns box on the right.
Back in the box on the left with the triangles, scroll down and click on "APPAREL." Click on "SHOES/FOOTWEAR." Then click on the last item, "SHOES/FOOTWEAR - BRANDS." In the box to the immediate right look for "NIKE", and click and drag "NIKE" over to the columns box on the right.
Graco car seats does not exist in this database.
PetSmart dog food also does not exist in this database. However, you can look up where people show for pet supplies. In the box on the left, scroll down to "PETS & PET FOOD" and click on it. Click on "PET SUPPLIES - WHERE DO YOU PURCHASE." In the box to the immediate right, click and drag "PETSMART" to the columns box on the right.
To add demographics, in the box on the left with the triangles, scroll to the very top of the box. Click on "LIFESTYLE (DEMOGRAPHICS." Click on "DEMOGRAPHICS (PERSONAL INFORMATION)." You can select any demographics you want to include.
A few you might want is Gender and Race. Click on "GENDER." To add all of the categories, in this case Male and Female, click on drag "GENDER" to the rows box on the right.
Click on "RACE." To include all the categories, click and drag "RACE" to the rows box.
You can also include age, but there are a lot fo categories. If you wish, select a few age ranges and drag them to the rows box.
After you've added brands to the columns and demographics to the rows, you can run the data. Click on the arrow pointing right at the top right of the page.
The data is broken out from into different columns. From left you right, you have Total (everyone who took the Simmons survey) which you can ignore, iPhone users, Nike, and PetSmart.
You only need to worry about the index. The index shows how much more likely the brand in your column is to be a demographic in the row. An index of 100 is average while over 101 means more likely, while an index of less than 99 means less likely. For example, "Of all the iPhone users, they are slightly more likely to be female than male because the female index is 105."
You can also subtract 100 from the index to find the perfect of how "most likely." For example, "iPhone users are more 5% more likely to be female than the general US population."
You can export this data by going to the left of the screen. Click on "Export." And then click on "EXPORT .XLS."
Keep Simmons Insights open but go back to the Dictionary Search. In the top right, click on "Dictionary Search."
Find the columns and rows boxes, and click on the "x" in the top right corner of each to clear it out.
In the box on the left with the triangles, find "LIFESTYLE (DEMOGRAPHICS)" and click on it. Click on "DEMOGRAPHICS (PERSONAL INFORMATION)." And then click and drag "GENDER" to the columns box.
Using the box with the triangles, scroll down to "PETS & PET FOOD." Click on it, then click on "DOG BISCUITS OR TREATS (H)." Click and drag "DOG BISCUITS/TREATS - HH BUYS?" to the rows box.
Click on the right pointing arrow in the top right corner to run the data.
Examine the indices among Males and Females. The gender has a higher index for "HH BUYS?: YES" means that gender buys dog biscuits more often.
Click on this link:
In the search box on the left, where it says "I'm looking for..." type in "sports fans" and click on the yellow magnifying glass
Scroll down until you see a square called "Marketing to Sports Fans - US - August 2015" which has a photo of four adults in blue uniforms. Click on the square.
Under the "Download" section, click on the "Social Media: Overview" PDF to find information about fans social media use.
Click on "Search this report." In the search box, type in "football" and click on "Search within report" to search. Under "Consumer" click on "Sports Followed."
Click the back button on your browser to go back. Click on "Search this report" again. Your "Football" search should come up. If it doesn't, search "Football" again. Under "Consumer" click on "Watching Companions."
Click the back button on your browser to go back. Scroll down to the "Consumer" section and click on it. Find "Motivations for and Barriers to Following Sports" and click on it.
Scroll to the top of Mintel and click on the yellow "Mintel" logo on the top right to return to the homepage. In the same search box you used before, where it says "I'm looking for..." type in "Cooking Enthusiast." Click on the magnifying glass to search.
Scroll down until you see a report titled "Cooking Enthusiasts - US October 2018." Click on the square to open it.
It's recommended you review all the sections to find the best answers for your questions, but you might find the following section the most useful:
Find the heading "Consumer" and click on it. Then click on "Cooking Influences."
We no longer have access to SRDS. Instead, click on the following link to access Statista:
Using the search box, search for fitness magazines. Click on a chart about fitness magazine circulation in the United States. The latest data might be from 2016 or 2017. Research the magazines to see which publication would best fit your consumer (e.g., which one is aimed at younger women?).
Also search for cooking or food magazines. Click on a chart about cooking magazine circulation in the United States. The latest data might be from 2016 or 2017. Research the magazines to see which publication would best fit your consumer.
We no longer have Redbooks or Winmo. Instead use Reference Solutions by clicking this link:
On Reference Solutions's homepage, scroll down to "U.S. Businesses." Click on "Search."
Click on the "Advanced Search" tab at the top.
On the left, look for "Business Type" and click on "Keyword/SIC/NAICS." In the middle of the page, click on "Search All NAICS." Then in the search box, type in "Advertising." The box below should come up with results; click on "54181001 - Advertising-Agencies & Counselors."
Back on the left side, select "City / State." Scroll down the page and search for a state. This example will use Colorado, so we will select Colorado from the list.
On the right, click on the green "VIEW RESULTS" link.
To find the number of employees, at the top right of the table, click on a gray down arrow.
Click on "Employees" again in the header until it's organized from largest to smallest.
Reference Solutions links some companies to their social media accounts, but it appears some social media accounts might be incorrect. You can do this research with a search engine like Google.
Go to Reference Solutions homepage by clicking on the "Data Axle" logo in the top left corner.
Scroll down to "U.S. Jobs / Internships." Click on it.
Using the Quick or Advanced Search, search for a position. Click "VIEW RESULTS" to search.
Pew Research is a free website. Go to https://www.pewresearch.org/internet/ to answer your questions.