Skip to main content

Hispanic Heritage Month: From Special Collections & Archives

Join us as we celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Month!

What Are Special or Archival Collections?

Archival collections are unique, rare, and one-of-a-kind, primary sources that document people, places, organizations, and events in history.  Examples of archival materials include letters, diaries, photographs, moving image films, sound recordings, or organizational papers.  Special collections usually contain rare books or manuscripts.

Both the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries' Special Collections and Archives units are part of the Libraries' Collections of Distinction.  Please contact us at sca@colorado.edu if you would like access to any of the sources listed below.

From the CU Boulder Libraries' Special Collections & Archives

Please note that the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room in Norlin Library is currently closed until further notice, due to the impacts of COVID-19. 

The titles below link to "finding aids," or guides to archival collections, that are available online at ArchivesSpace at CU Boulder, a database of over 1,600 collections available for research at the CU Boulder Libraries' Archives, or the Rocky Mountain Online Archive, a consortial database of archival collections from all over the Rocky Mountain region.  Click on each link to explore the contents of each collection.  Contact the CU Boulder Libraries' Archives at sca@colorado.edu for information on how to view these collections.

El Diario de la Gente student newspapers online.  Search and explore the entire print run of the student newspaper of the United Mexican American Students organization at CU Boulder from October 1972-April 1983, available digitally online on the Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection.  

Latinos in Colorado Oral History Project collection (COU:967). Contains oral history recordings and transcripts of interviews conducted by CU Boulder professor Maria Montoya's graduate history class on Latinos in Colorado, 1993.

Ricardo Gullón papers (MS 289).  Contains the papers of Ricardo Gullón Fernández (1908-1991), a Spanish writer, essayist and literary critic who taught at Columbia, the University of Chicago, and the University of Texas-Austin.

United Mexican American Students (UMAS) records (COU:3673).  Contains records documenting UMAS at CU Boulder from 1968 to the present.

Euvaldo Valdez papers (COU:4032).  Contains materials documenting two organizations, Boulder County: Mexican Americans of Boulder County United (MACBU) and the local chapter of the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC), 1971-1977.

Ernesto Vigil papers (COU:1639) Contains personal and research papers from Chicanx activist and former Crusade for Justice member Ernesto B. Vigil (b. 1948), dating from 1948-2001.

Vigil family collection (COU:1642).  Contains personal and professional papers documenting Jose Urbano Vigil and his family in Las Animas County, Colorado, dating from 1900-1962.

From Other Archives

Colorado Chicano Movement Archives (CSU-Pueblo Archives and Special Collections).  A substantial body of primary-source collections documenting Chicanx activists and civil rights in Colorado.

 

 

The Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American Recordings (UCLA Library).  Digital database containing over 125,000 songs celebrating North America’s Spanish-language musical heritage.

 

 

 

Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape (Library of Congress).  Listen to nearly 700 audio recordings of prominent Hispanic writers from 32 countries, dating by to 1943.

 

 

Hispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection (Library of Congress).  Explore this ethnographic field collection documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado

 

COVID-19 Information for Library Services

CU Boulder affiliates: access facilities during open hours with your BuffOne Card.

Latest updates and information about collections, services, loan periods and returns.