Skip to Main Content

MCDB 3700 Poisons in Cell Biology and Society (Su) - Special Collections Visit

A guide to view some historical documents related to poisons and their relationship with society.

Historical Works on Poisons

About this Guide

This library guide for MCDB 3700: Poisons in Cell Biology and Society focuses on providing access to historical sources relating to poisons and their social impact over time. Use the tabs at the top to navigate based on themes. Poisons are divided between those studied in class, a couple new poisons, some poison remedies from the 1800s, and mortality tables. This exercise is part of a class assignment and reflection questions for these historical pieces can be found on the class worksheet.

Historical items are either linked out or embedded in the guide itself. To turn the pages of the embedded books, just click the page to flip it! You can always open the book in a new tab by clicking the title at the bottom.

About CU's History of Science Collections

The University of Colorado Boulder Libraries' Special Collections and Archives holds a strong collection of history of science materials. Much of this is tied to CU's history, with its strong tradition of scientific activity, but has been supplemented with major important donations and targeted acquisitions. Today, we continue to build this collection through new acquisitions to support research and instruction on campus and beyond. To find additional materials held in our Special Collections and Archives, search the following two databases:

Library Catalog Advanced Search

  • This link takes you to a library catalog advanced search. The best way to find additional relevant books here at CU is to run this advanced search by keyword and limit the search with a date range to find historical copies of history of science books. For example, put in Newton as a keyword and limit the date range between 1680 to 1720. The second option to see only Special Collections books is to search a keyword and limit the "Location" to Special Collections.

Archives Database

  • This link takes you to our archival repository. Here, you can browse finding aids to our unpublished collections. Many deal with history of science and include documents such as field notebooks, photographs, research notes, etc.

Rare and Distinctive Collections

rad@colorado.edu

Website

Classroom: Norlin M350B

Reading Room: Norlin E1B43

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sean Babbs

Life Science Librarian

Profile Photo
Barbara Losoff
Contact:
Norlin Library, Room M300C
303-492-1859