Skip to main content

JPNS 3881 Environment, Nature, and Disaster in Japanese Literature and Culture (Brown) - Special Collections Virtual Visit

A guide to materials relating to Japan and the environment in the CU Boulder Libraries Special Collections.

Japan, Nature, and Disaster

Two pieces from 1945: [Left] An Anti-Malaria Poster from Tokyo; [Right] The bombing of Nagasaki. From the US National Archives

About this Guide

This library guide for JPNS 3881: Environment, Nature, and Disaster in Japanese Literature and Culture focuses on providing digital access to physical materials held in the CU Boulder Libraries. In Special Collections, there are many documents that highlight Japan and its relationship with the environment over the centuries. Such documents include rare publications and first editions of historical books on Japan, published and unpublished photographs of natural disasters, hand-colored maps, and artistic pieces.

Navigating the Guide

To get started, use the tabs at the top of the guide to navigate to items by theme. Many of the documents have been embedded into these pages so that they are viewable without opening in a new window. However, depending on how these look in your browser and if you want to enlarge them, you may want to open the embedded item in another tab or in its main webpage. For embedded PDF documents, click the title to open them in a new tab. For embedded books, you can turn the pages by clicking on them in the embedded view, or you can click on the title below the book to take you to the Internet Archive site (where you can zoom in and navigate a bit easier).

Some of the documents in this guide are large files (10-50 MB) and may take some time to load.

About CU's Special Collections and Archives

The University of Colorado Boulder Libraries' Special Collections and Archives holds a growing collection of materials on and from Japan. We continue to build this collection through new acquisitions to support research and instruction on campus and beyond. To find additional materials held in our Special Collections and Archives, search the following two databases:

Library Catalog Advanced Search

  • This link takes you to a library catalog advanced search. The best way to find additional relevant books here at CU is to run this advanced search by keyword and limit the search with a date range. For example, put in Japan as a keyword and limit the date range between 1800 to 1900. The second option to see only Special Collections books is to search a keyword and limit the "Location" to Special Collections.

Archives Database

  • This link takes you to our archival repository. Here, you can browse finding aids to our unpublished collections. Many deal with the history of Japanese-US relations (though mostly from the American perspective) and include documents such as diaries, photographs, research notes, etc.

COVID-19 Information for Library Services

CU Boulder affiliates: access facilities during open hours with your BuffOne Card.

Latest updates and information about collections, services, loan periods and returns.

Special Collections and Archives

Call 303-492-6144

sca@colorado.edu

Website

Classroom: Norlin N345

Reading Room: Norlin M350B