Two pieces from 1945: [Left] An Anti-Malaria Poster from Tokyo; [Right] The bombing of Nagasaki. From the US National Archives
This library guide for JPNS 3881: Environment, Nature, and Disaster in Japanese Literature and Culture focuses on providing digital access to physical materials held in the CU Boulder Libraries. In the Rare Books Collection, there are many documents that highlight Japan and its relationship with the environment over the centuries. Such documents include rare publications and first editions of historical books on Japan, published and unpublished photographs of natural disasters, hand-colored maps, and artistic pieces.
Navigating the Guide
To get started, use the tabs at the top of the guide to navigate to items by theme. Many of the documents have been embedded into these pages so that they are viewable without opening in a new window. However, depending on how these look in your browser and if you want to enlarge them, you may want to open the embedded item in another tab or in its main webpage. For embedded PDF documents, click the title to open them in a new tab. For embedded books, you can turn the pages by clicking on them in the embedded view, or you can click on the title below the book to take you to the Internet Archive site (where you can zoom in and navigate a bit easier).
Some of the documents in this guide are large files (10-50 MB) and may take some time to load.
The University of Colorado Boulder Libraries' Rare and Distinctive Collections holds a growing collection of materials on and from Japan. We continue to build this collection through new acquisitions to support research and instruction on campus and beyond. To find additional materials held in our Rare and Distinctive Collections, search the following two databases: