Skip to main content

ENGL 1260 Introduction to Women's Literature (Cassity): Course Information

Course Description

This class introduces you to women’s literary history, exploring how and why women have fought to have unique attention paid to their artistic voices. It's also about the process and politics of recovery--how we find and restore the voices we've lost or haven't paid enough attention to in the past. We’ll read essays, short stories, poems, and novels from women over the last few hundred years to inform discussions of why we should study women’s words, how we can seek them out when political and social forms of oppression have made them hard to find, and how, throughout history, women have encouraged or discouraged each other to embrace their imaginations and identities as writers. As part of this class, you will participate in recovery work of your own, creating an anthology-style entry for a lesser-known woman writer as your final project.

Assignment Details: Recovering Women Writers

Purpose: The purpose of this assignment is to allow you to synthesize the knowledge we’ve gained in this course about recovery projects and women writers and to participate in recovery work yourself. You will gain experience in using our library’s research offerings, will gain first-hand familiarity with some of the real-world challenges in recovery work, and will produce a tangible product of recovery work.

Assignment: For your final project, you will take on the role of an editor, imagining yourself as finding, annotating, and providing context for a work by a woman writer for a public audience. To do this, you will create an anthology-style entry for a woman writer that you haven’t heard of before.

For full assignment details and rubrics, please see our course Canvas page.

Rare and Distinctive Collections Virtual Office Hours

Need assistance doing research with lesser-known writers and want to speak with an archivist or special collections librarian? Join us in our virtual reading room this semester!

Rare and Distinctive Collections Virtual Reading Room: https://cuboulder.zoom.us/my/radvirtualreadingroom

Hours: Mondays-Thursdays 11am-3pm + Tuesdays-Thursdays 7pm-8pm

Working Off-Campus

Begin for the libraries homepage. Click on a library database or resource, follow the log-in screen instructions.

Access licensed resources  with your

identikey username and password.

authentication screen

Consider downloading a browser plugin for quick access to CU Library resources, wherever you are on the web.

Learn more about off-campus access.

VPN

VPN

VPN required for some off-campus access.
Download Now

Fall 2021: Reopening schedule & service updates

All five campus libraries will re-open for fall. Read about open hours and other important service changes coming soon.

Literature and Humanities Librarian

Profile Photo
Amanda Rybin Koob

Head, Special Collections

Profile Photo
Deborah Hollis
Contact:
Special Collections, Archives & Preservation
Norlin Library N345
303-492-3910

Instruction and Exhibits Program Manager, Special Collections

Susan Guinn-Chipman

 susan.guinn-chipman@colorado.edu

Related Guides