Skip to main content

ITAL 4600 Once Upon a Time in Italy (Magnanini): 4. Where to Search

Finding Articles in Library Databases

Unlike the library catalog, databases mostly contain articles. There are different types of databases that hold many different types of information, but for this class we're focusing on databases that include articles from journals related to the disciplines of Literature and the study of Folklore.

Scholarly articles are published in Academic Journals. They are considered secondary sources because they provide commentary and analysis about primary sources like short stories or the things you might find in our Special Collections & Archives.

Below is a short list of databases that we'll use for this class. Look for a Help Menu or "?" within the database to find search tips and additional help. Also, feel free to reach out to me, your librarian, or any of the library staff.

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

This graphic explains the process for using "Find it at CU," available in most databases and Google Scholar, to locate the full text of an article.

Text alternative for web accessibility - infographic

Finding the full-text of an article

Which library catalog should I search?

Internet Sites for the Library Class

Google Scholar Search

If located off campus, be sure to add CU to your Google Scholar Library Links under "Settings" in your browser.

VPN

VPN

VPN required for some off-campus access.
Download Now

Searching University Libraries Collections

OneSearch is the main search box you'll find on the library home page. It searches our library catalog, Chinook, plus a whole bunch of other great resources including article databases. If you know you need a book or journal, or to find out if we have a subscription, you can just use Chinook Classic.

Chinook has its own tips and search techniques. Check out the link below to learn how to use it like a pro!

Borrowing items from the library

To check out materials from University Libraries, you can take them to the Circulation Desk with your Buff OneCard. We also have self-check-out stations. To find out more, click on the link below: