Skip to main content

Classical Art: Pottery & Vases

Guide to researching art from classical greek and rome.

Beazley Archive Database

The Beazley Archive Database (BAD) can be used to search for Greek vases in multiple ways.

  • The simple search allows for finding vases by theme, style, shape, technique, etc. producing a corpus of vases of with a particular desired combination.
  • The advanced search can find databases by citation including BAD number, as well as by citations in works such a Beazley’s Attic Black-Figure Vase-Painters, by entering the title of the work in the publication, and the reference number in the reference field.

The entries in the BAD include lists of citations where you can find scholarship and reproduction of the images. It often cites the LIMC and the CVA entries, as well as often including a link to the digitized version of the CVA. It often includes citations to journal literature, check the e-journal finder on the left to see if we have the journal online. Otherwise request a copy via ILLiad.

Citations for Athenian Vases

The core books for the citation of Athenian vases are located in the Art & Architecture Reference Collection at NK4649. B44. These citations form an identifier for particular vases even as they may move from museum to museum. Entries have brief information along with citations to works depicting the vase.

  • Beazley’s Attic Black-Figure Vase-Painters (ABV)
  • Beazley’s Attic Red-Figure Vase-Painters. 2nd ed.  (ARV2)
  • Beazley’s Paralipomena
  • Carpenter’s Beazley Addenda. 2nd ed.

Examples:

Warsaw, National Museum 142345; ABV 194.1; Paralipomena 80; Addenda2 52; BAD 302548.

  • The vase is currently in the National Museum in Warsaw, where its inventory number is 142345.
  • The vase is listed as entry no. 1 on page 194 of Beazley’s Attic Black-Figure Vase-Painters.
  • The vase is listed on page 80 of Beazley’s Paralipomena, where it is identified by its ABV catalogue number (194.1).
  • The vase is listed on page 52 of the 2nd edition of Carpenter’s Beazley Addenda, where it is identified by its ABV catalogue number (194.1).
  • The record number for the vase in the Beazley Archive Database is 302548.

Berlin, Antikensammlung F 2298; ARV2 364.52; Paralipomena 364; Addenda2 223; BAD 203844.

  • The vase is currently in the Antikensammlung in Berlin, where its inventory number is F 2298.
  • The vase is listed as entry no. 52 on page 364 of the 2nd edition of Beazley’s Attic Red-Figure Vase-Painters.
  • The vase is listed on page 364 of Beazley’s Paralipomena, where it is identified by its ARV2 catalogue number (364.52).
  • The vase is listed on page 223 of the 2nd edition of Carpenter’s Beazley Addenda, where it is identified by its ARV2 catalogue number (364.52).
  • The record number for the vase in the Beazley Archive Database is 203844.

Adapted from a worksheet by Kathryn Topper

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum (CVA)

The CVA is an attempt to reproduce the entire corpus (body) of classical vases. It is organized by country and then by museum. Its publication is still ongoing. The library has the print copy shelved in the art & architecture stacks. Many of the volumes have been digitized and are available at the CVA database. Additionally the relevant pages for a specific pot are usually linked from the Beazley archive database.

E Journal Finder

Search for Periodical Titles

Browse Periodicals by Subject
Browse Periodical Titles
0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Classical Abbreviations

Classics makes extensive use of abbreviations especially for the names of publications and journals. Always check the source for the list of abbreviations.