Skip to main content

EBIO 1940: Academic Writing for Science Students: Articles

Start here to find information about your EBIO 1950 assignment.

Assessing the information you find

As you find articles that help answer your research question, you'll need to assess them. Normally, you'll look at more articles than you'll find useful, and use a variety of criteria to narrow down what you find.

As a class, use this collaborative document to identify some characteristics of various types of sources, as well as what they are particularly good for. Then, when you're working on your deliberative project and other assignments, refer back!

Find information in books, journals, and more with OneSearch

General Databases

Other recommended databases to try searching with include:

Subject-specific Databases

While the databases above are great places to start, you'll also find it helpful to focus in on deep, narrow databases that are used by scholars in the discipline you're learning to be a part of.

Browse all of our subject-specific databases on our Research by Subject page, or try one of the selected databases below. We've chosen them because they're especially good examples of subject-specific databases in areas EBIO 3940 students commonly study, but there are even more on the Research by Subject page.

But my article isn't online!

If the article you are looking for isn't available online, the CU libraries will get it for you! When you click "Find it at CU" in a database, you'll have the option to request items we don't have online if the item isn't there. Using the request buttons and following the instructions they generate should help you to place your request. Once we've received the article, we'll email you with a link from which you can download the PDF of your article.

To check whether your articles have arrived, what their status might be, or to manually request an article or book, you can log on to interlibrary loan (aka ILLiad).