Skip to main content

CHIN 5010: Sinological Methods: Library Catalogs

Classic Catalog vs. OneSearch

A library catalog is a register of all bibliographic items found in a library.

OneSearch is a subscription service that we purchased from ProQuest, it is what we called a discovery tool. It provides a single search box and Google-like interface. Content is harvested from not only library resources, but also databases, repositories, and other subscriptions or open access sources.

Locate an Item in the Library

Library materials are arranged by collections which have their designated shelf locations in the library. Within each collection, items are arranged by Library of Congress call numbers.

Collection Locations:

Books and journals in Chinese, Japanese, or Korean are located in the Asian Studies Stacks on the 2nd floor. There is a separated Asian Studies Reference Collection that is located next to the Asian Studies Stacks.

Most of your Western language books will be located in the Norlin Stacks on the 3rd floor. You may also have materials in the Art & Architecture Collection, the DVD collection, or the Music Library.

This is understandably confusing, so feel free to ask us for help at the research desk or contact Xiang directly.

LC Call Numbers:

  • LC call numbers are first arranged alphabetically.
  • Within the alphabetical section, items are arranged by the numbers that follow. These numbers are regarded as whole numbers. Example: PL899 before PL1074.8 before PL1074.85
  • The next lines are alphabetic, then numeric as a decimal. The numerical part of this section is a decimal number, not a whole number. Example: PL2250 .F8 before PL2250 .H36 before PL2250 .H7

 

Request Materials from PASCAL:

Some of our library materials are stored in Pascal. To retrieve an item that has a location code Pascal Offsite, choose , and follow the instructions on the screen. You will receive an email when the material arrives at the library.

Borrowing from Other Libraries

Use Prospector to borrow materials that we don’t have readily available from other libraries and vendors. This includes materials we don’t own, as well as items that are checked out, lost or missing.

You may look for the prospector within Chinook to take you to Prospector. or check the "Search beyond CU Boulder Libraries" box in OneSearch.

Once you find what you want, choose the "Request Item" option and follow the instructions on the screen. You will receive an email when the material is ready or arrives at the library.

 

  • .

If what you want isn’t available in Prospector, you may be able to find it in Prospector’s partner catalog MOBIUS. Look for the link within Prospector to take you there.

 

WorldCat is a union catalog that contains millions of bibliographic records from over 70,000 libraries in over 150 countries. It shows that a particular item is owned by a particular library.

 

  • Interlibrary Loan:

Borrow materials and get scans from libraries around the world. Request a loan through ILLiad.

You will receive an email when the material is ready or arrives at the library.

 

Librarian

Xiang Li's picture
Xiang Li
Contact:
xiang.li@colorado.edu
(303) 492-7454