Provides current biographical details of the world's most eminent individuals in a wide range of fields. Typical entries include the entrant's nationality, date and place of birth, family, profession, education and qualifications, career and memberships, honors, awards and prizes, artistic achievements, and contact details.
The Dizionario Biografico degli Italiani is a biographical dictionary published by the Istituto dell'Enciclopedia Italiana, started in 1925 and not yet completed. It is planned to include about 40,000 biographies of distinguished Italians. The entries are signed by their authors and provide a rich bibliography.
Visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art, the best source for encyclopedia entries on artists, styles, periods, materials or techniques. Entries include extensive lists of sources.
This superb biographical dictionary covers the lives of exceptional women throughout three and a half centuries of American history. Here are artists, lawyers, reformers, educators, entrepreneurs, physicists, writers, pioneers, presidents' ladies, film stars.
Entries on almost five hundred women representing a wide range of fields of endeavor are featured in a collection of biographical essays that integrate each woman's personal life with her professional achievements, set in the context of historical developments.
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography contains details of the lives of over 2100 women from all periods, cultures and walks of life - from queens to TV chefs, engineers to stand up comics, pilots to poisoners. With subsections for further reading, comprehensive subject index and a bibliographical survey, this dictionary of women's biography is an invaluable reference source.
This dictionary covers all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century, describing and assessing the lives of more than 1000 men and women who have shaped political events across the world. Each entry includes an account of the background, career, and achievements of the individual concerned.
This volume is a comprehensive reference tool for learning about scientists and their work. It includes 500 cross-referenced profiles of well-known scientific greats of history and contemporary scientists whose work is verging on prominence.