Skip to main content

History Subject Guide: Selection of Primary/Secondary Sources

Finding Primary and Secondary Sources in Library Databases

This is only a selection of databases that are available for your research. If you are not finding relevant sources in these or need more material, be sure to check out other databases on the Find Articles & Databases: History and other subject lists, such as Biography, Ethnic Studies, and Gender Studies, and News & Newspapers.

Here is a list of full-text primary source databases:

To find articles in other periodical sources, particularly local ones, search OneSearch by the paper name and look for its index. Please note that while we may have indexes for certain papers, it does not guarantee we have the paper itself. For Colorado papers especially, it is worth a call, e-mail, or a trip to the CU Archives or one of the other institutions in the area (Denver Public Library, CHS, CSA,etc.).

Once you have located materials of interest in these databases, if they are not full-text make sure to take down all the citation information. You can print and/or email the citations and abstracts to yourself from most of the databases. Using this information, you will need to search for the source -- periodical title (for articles) or book title (for books and book chapters) -- in OneSearch to see if the CU Libraries hold it. If so, pay close attention to where the item is located -- in the stacks, Media Center, PASCAL, Periodical Room, etc. -- and in the case of periodicals, whether we have the issue you need.

Loading ...