Skip to main content

Print Maps and Atlases: Special Map Collections

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Portion of an 1883 Sanborn map of BoulderYou can search for a specific city (keyword search: "[city name] sanborn maps") or browse by doing a title search for "sanborn fire insurance maps colorado." Limit your results to the map format on the left hand side.

The collection maps approximately 560 cities, beginning in 1883 and ending in 1937. Learn more about the collection

Mining Maps of Colorado

Portion of a mining map from 1916 of the Nederland areaThis collection contains maps of various mines, lodes, and claims in Colorado from the late 1800s to the early 1900s. These maps come from a variety of creators, including private publishers and US government agencies. Learn more about the collection.

Aerial Photos

1938 aerial photo of BoulderThis collection contains aerial photos of Colorado from 1930 to the 1970s taken by the U.S. Forest Service, photographs of agricultural areas for the 1940s to the1960s in Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Elbert, Jefferson, Larimer and Weld Counties, flown by U.S. Department of Agriculture, and Landiscor Atlases of the Denver metro region from 1989 to present. 

The Map Library has purchased digital air photo images covering the City of Boulder, Boulder County, and a small part of downtown Denver. Dates range from the 1950s through the 1990s. Some restrictions apply for public use. Learn more about the collection.

 

Ask An Earth Sciences & Map Librarian

Ask Us

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.