Research Guides: Slavic Languages and Literature: Articles and Databases

News

Access World News Research Collection
Online access to major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Also includes newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Argumenty i fakty
Popular weekly newspaper based in Moscow. In Russian.
BBC - Russia
English-language news about Russia by the BBC.
Current Digest of the Russian Press
Presents a weekly selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English. Intended for use in teaching and research.
Lenta.ru
Popular Russian-language online news source.
Moscow Times
Leading English language daily newspaper.
Nexis Uni
Comprehensive source for local, regional and national newspapers in the United States, plus some international sources.
Radio Free Europe
Online news source with information about a number of regions including Russia, the Caucasus, and Central Asia.
TASS Russian News Agency
One of the largest Russian information agencies.

World News Connection (East View)
A powerful online subscription service bringing news from around the world, translated into English, typically within 24-72 hours from the time of the original publication or broadcast. Sources provided by the Open Source Center.

Language and Literature Databases

ABSEEES Online (EBSCO)
North American scholarship on Slavic, East European, and Eurasian issues from 1989 to the present.
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
Full-text articles and indexing of academic journals covering a broad range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Research database that contains scholarly resources with a focus on literary studies, film and multimedia studies, folklore, modern languages, and linguistics.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Connects publications and researchers through citations and controlled indexing in curated databases spanning every discipline. Use cited reference search to track prior research and monitor current developments in over 100 year's worth of content that is fully indexed, including records and back-files dating back to 1898.

Culture, Film and Folklore

Alexander Street Press Streaming Video
Collection of academic streaming videos from more than 1,500 leading distributors, producers and filmmakers.
Iskusstvo Kino
Film magazine which focuses on film theory and review. In Norlin Library Periodicals Collection: PN1993 .I7
Kanopy
Kanopy offers over 8,500 streaming films, documentaries, educational and training videos from an array of producers and distributors including BBC Active and Criterion Collection/Janus films. All videos work on PCs with Flash, iPads, iPhones, and mobile devices.
Access note: Kanopy may not work with Chrome. Please try a different browser.
KinoKultura
Online journal which features reviews, articles and videos on new Russian cinema.
Moskva
In Russian. A magazine of Russian Orthodox culture. Current Russian prose, poetry and journalistic writings.
Ogonek
In Russian. A national magazine for families of social topics and fiction.

Helpful Journals

Canadian-American Slavic Studies: Revue canadienne-américaine d'études slaves
A peer reviewed quarterly journal, which publishes articles, essays, documents, illustrations and book reviews about Slavic and East European culture, past and present, in a scholarly context, in the humanities and social sciences.
Russian Review
Features scholarship on various disciplines from literature to economics of Russia.
Russian Studies in Literature
Includes annotated translations of Russian literary criticism and scholarship on contemporary works and classics as well as cultural topics.
Slavic and East European Journal
Publishes research studies in all areas of Slavic languages, literature, and cultures.

Digital Collections for Slavic Studies

The following is a selection of repositories of digitized texts, images, and video online provided by libraries and organizations both within and outside of Russia and Eastern Europe.

FEB: Fundamental'naia Elektronnaia Biblioteka
A full-text repository of Russian literature, folklore, and literary criticism spanning the 11th-20th century.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Log in with your CU identikey and password.
Natsional'naia Elektronnaia Biblioteka
National Electronic Library of Russia, combining digital resources from more than 50 Russian libraries, archives, and museums.
Russian Archives Online
Historic collections of RAO’s archives contain image and film content from Russia and the fifteen republics of the former Soviet Union.
Stalin Digital Archive
Contains a selection of documents, which covers Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs.
Zhurnalnyi Zal
Provides access to a number of contemporary Russian literary journals. Includes links to additional sources.

Ask A Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat with a Librarian

Email libraries@colorado.edu

Working Off-Campus

Access licensed resources with your:

identikey username and password

Click on a library database or resource, follow the log-in screen instructions.

Or for those databases requiring VPN, follow these instructions to download.

Combine Search Words

AND -- link words by using AND to search for all keywords in the same resource
OR -- link words by using OR to search for one keyword or another, great way to search for synonyms
NOT -- to eliminate results with a certain keyword
"Quotations" -- add quotations to a group of two or more words to search for the exact phrase