Skip to main content

Citing Business Information: Information from Business Databases

This guide offers examples how to cite commonly-used business information sources.

How to Cite a Company Profile from Business Insights: Global

Image of title information for Google company profile in Business Insights: Global database.

  • Gale Cengage Learning. (2015). Google, Inc. [Company profile]. Retrieved September 3, 2015 from Business Insights: Global database.

How to Cite Mergent Online

Image of Crocs company record in Mergent Online database.

  • Mergent, Inc. (n.d.). Crocs, Inc. [Company report]. Retrieved September 4, 2015 from Mergent Online database.

Image of Executive Bio of Crocs executive Thomas Smach in Mergent Online database

  • Mergent, Inc. (n.d.). Crocs, Inc: Thomas J. Smach [executive bio]. Retrieved September 4, 2015 from Mergent Online database.

Mergent Online also has downloadable reports from other sources (10-K, Equity Reports, etc.). Cite those as you would cite other types of reports and use your judgment about whether to include "Retrieved from Mergent Online database." Generally, if the document is only available from this source, you will include the database information. If it is easily located in other sources or a Google search (for example, SEC filings), it is not always necessary to include the database information.

  • Crocs, Inc. (December 31, 2004). Prospectus.
  • Mergent, Inc. (n.d.). Crocs, Inc.: Full company report. Retrieved September 4, 2015 from Mergent Online database.
  • Mergent, Inc. (June 2015). IT & Technology: North America  [Industry report]. Retrieved from Mergent Online database.

How to Cite PrivCo

Cite a List of Search Results (i.e., list of Companies, Investors, etc.)

PrivCo company search results for private companies within 25 miles of Boulder aged 1 to 6 years with 10 to 50 million in funding.

  • PrivCo. (n.d.). [List of] Private companies in the Boulder, Colorado area, aged 1 to 6 years and having $10M-$50M in funding. Retrieved March 23, 2017 from PrivCo database.

Cite a Single Profile

Image of the top section of a PrivCo company report showing the company name and location.

 

  • PrivCo. (n.d.). Able Planet, Inc. [Company profile]. Retrieved March 23, 2017 from PrivCo database.

How to Cite ReferenceUSA

Image of title section of Reference USA company location profile for Cosmo's Pizza Boulder location.

InfoGroup is the corporate author of ReferenceUSA.

  • InfoGroup, Inc. (n.d.). Cosmo's Pizza [Company profile]. Retrieved September 8, 2015 from ReferenceUSA database.