Research Guides: IAFS 4500 Conflict and Culture in South Asia (Chester): Home

Welcome

Welcome!

Hi, we're Kate & Allan and we're here to help! Things are a little different these days.... that's why we recommend you take a look at the library's COVID-19 resource page. Or you might prefer to check out our short guide to library resources during COVID instead. This will give you all the info you need to understand how to check out books, find a study space, and more...

As you scroll through this page, you'll see a bunch of links. These are just suggestions. The library subscribes to a lot of different databases and has thousands and thousands of books for you to choose from. It can be a little overwhelming, so we will try our best to help. Come back here or email us any time!

Helpful Links

Here is our class presentation
Here is the library COVID-19 website
Here is Kate's email: kathryn.w.tallman@colorado.edu & here is Allan's email: allan.vanhoye@colorado.edu

We Recommend

PAIS Index (ProQuest)
Covers global public policy and social issues.
JSTOR
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) (EBSCO)
The most comprehensive index of Asian studies in the humanities and social sciences, with coverage from 1971-present.

Find Articles
This link will take you to the UCB Libraries comprehensive list of all databases categorized by subject

More Research

IBSS International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
References and abstracts for social science research.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
Includes latest scholarship in feminist research.
Digital South Asia Library
Information from the colonial period through the present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) (EBSCO)
The most comprehensive index of Asian studies in the humanities and social sciences, with coverage from 1971-present.
JSTOR Security Studies
Contains journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of security studies, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict on a global scale.

U.S. Government Policy Sources

ProQuest Congressional Legislative & Executive Publications
Detailed information about Congress and domestic and foreign policy issues.Hearings are good primary sources for almost any issue. Includes Hearings 1824-Present, CRS Reports 1916-Present, House and Senate Documents 1817-Present, Legislative Histories 1969-Present, Bills and Laws 1776-Present, Bills and Resolutions, Miscellaneous Publications 1789-Present, Vote Reports 1987-Present, Mapes 1789-2007, Congressional Record 1789-Present, Executive Branch 1789-1952, Presidential Materials 1789-Present.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Good for background information on contemporary issues affecting the U.S.

Intergovernmental Organizations

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The official open access repository for research outputs and publications of the World Bank.

World Bank: South Asia
Country profiles, overview, research, statistics, and more information on the South Asia region

United Nations Dag Hammarskjld Library
This is the digital repository for United Nations, hosted by the Dag Hammarskjld Library. It includes the Index to the Proceedings of the United Nations, bibliographic records to UN Publications, Voting Records, Speeches and more.

International Law

GlobaLex
Provides research guides to foreign law by country, international, and comparative law.
EUR-Lex
European Union law and documents and the daily edition of the Official Journal of the European Union, from 1951 to present.

Policy Research, NGO's, & Think Tanks

Carnegie Endowment - South Asia Program
The Carnegie South Asia Program informs policy debates relating to the region’s security, economy, and political development.
Council on Foreign Relations
Independent, non-partisan information, reports, and analysis about world events and American foreign policy.

Chatham House Online Archive (Gale)
Archive of publications of the Royal Institute of International Affairs covering the 20th and 21st centuries. Contains high-level analysis and research on global trends and key events and issues. Includes the following collections: Module 1 1920-1979, Module 2: 1980-2008.

Asia Society Policy Institute
A think tank and research organization that focuses on major policy challenges in Asia

Columbia International Affairs Online
International affairs articles and reports from think-tanks and other organizations

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 (Adam Matthew)
Primary sources from South Asia (1947-1980)
Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files (Gale)
U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs containing a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats.
Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War (Gale)
This collection provides a broad spectrum of information on military policy and administration, including the organization, operations and equipment of the army during the war.
India-Pakistan Conflict: Records of the U.S. State Department, February 1963-1966 (Gale)
State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan, recording the political relations between India and Pakistan during the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.
Pakistan from Crown Rule to Republic: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949 (Gale)
A companion archive to India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949, this collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan.
Indian Army and Colonial Warfare on the Frontiers of India, 1914-1920 (Gale)
Contains Army Lists; Orders; Instructions; Regulations; Acts; Manuals; Strength Returns; Orders of Battle; Administration Summaries; organization, commissions, committees, reports, maneuvers; departments of the Indian Army; and regimental narratives.
India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949: Records of the U.S. State Department (Gale)
This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949.

International Statistical Yearbook
Collection of statistical databases from domestic and international institutions.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources.
Gallup Analytics
Analyze data from the U.S. and over 160 countries on topics related to economics, politics, and well-being. Data spans many decades and includes U.S. daily tracking and the Gallup Poll Social Series. Microdata from the World Poll not included with subscription.
Access note: Access limited to 1 concurrent user.

Asian Barometer
The Global Barometer Survey for Asia; including South Asian countries

Pew Research Global Attitudes and Trends
A wide variety of global public opinion polls

International Newsstream (ProQuest)
Provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. Includes the following collections:
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Periodicals of ethnic and minority presses. Articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people.
World News Connection (East View)
Information from non-US media sources provided by the Open Source Center (OSC) a domestic and overseas bureaus who monitors open-source materials.
Nexis Uni
Comprehensive source for local, regional and national newspapers in the United States, plus some international sources. Strong source for legal, company (including private), and country research.

Ask A Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat with a Librarian

Email libraries@colorado.edu

Ask an Expert

Kathryn Tallman

Email Me

Librarian

Allan Van Hoye

Email Me