Skip to main content

Multilingual Reference Management: Home

Keep track of your research and sources:

Refrerence (or Citation) management software helps you keep track of research materials. This guide details how to install and get the most out of Zotero and Juris-M. It gives special attention to using Juris-M to mange multilingual research. With these programs you can save PDFs, annotate them, export highlights, and take general notes on any material you are collecting for a project.

Background music: Puzzle Pieces by Lee Rosevere

The ultra-fast install guide:

This guide is a stripped down version of all the steps needed to install Zotero or Juris-M. If you feel you are computer-savvy, feel free to follow the steps below, and consult the tabs at the top of the guide when you think you need more help. This guide assumes you will read the relevant information on the linked pages.

Zotero   Juris-M
  1. Get Zotero if: you will basically always be working in English. You can choose to upgrade to Juris-M later.



  2. ★ Beginner Steps: Setup

  3. Make an account with Zotero.org
  4. Download and install Zotero for your browser
  5. Make sure to sync Zotero with your online account:
    >> Preferences >> Sync >> Enter your Zotero username and password
  6. Download the Zotero Connector for your browser
    Skip this step if you are using the Firefox Integrated version of Zotero


  7. Congrats, you have the basic installation of Zotero set up! You should play around with the software. Try making collections, importing books from your library catalog, PDFs from your preferred databases, exporting bibliographies, and getting a general feel for the variety of things Zotero can do.


    ★ Intermediate Steps: Plugins

  8. Download or activate the MS Word Plugin
    >> for FireFox
    >> for Zotero Standalone >> open Zotero >> >> Preferences >> Cite >> Word Processors
  9. Download and Install Zotfile
  10. Configure which folder on your computer you want Zotfile to monitor for newly downloaded PDFs
    >> ZotFile Preferences >> General Settings >> Source Folder >> "Your system download folder" [recommended]

  11. You now have two of the most covenient plugins. You will need some files books, articles, etc. in your Zotero library to play around with these. Open MS Word and try out the functions in the new "Zotero" tab, experiment with entering your citations from Zotero as you type. ZotFile adds new functionality to Zotero, especially regarding PDF management. Try highlighting text in a PDF and auto-exporting it into a Zotero note.


    ★ Advanced Steps: File Management

    Only advanced users should consider these options. If you are not comfortable navigating file directories you should not integrate these advanced ZotFile features into your workflow.

  12. Download the supporting software for either GoogleDrive or Dropbox so that it can sync seemlesly with your computer.
  13. After you have set up your cloud syncing software, create a new folder in your Dropbox / GoogleDrive directory. Label it something like "research." Do not name the folder for a specific research project you are working on. ALL of your PDFs will be stored here.
  14. Configure Zotero to use your cloud storage service as the base directory for its library.
    >> Preferences >> Advanced >> Files and Folders >> Base Directory >> [your cloud storage folder]
  15. Configure Zotfile to send your PDFs to your computer's Dropbox / GoogleDrive sync folder
    >> ZotFile Preferences >> Genral Settings >> Location of Files >> [your cloud storage folder]
  16. You are pretty much done! Try importing books, PDFs, Websites, etc. into Zotero. Create some libraries. Tinker with preferences. Check out the Tips and Tricks section
 
  1. Get Juris-M if: your research materials are in multiple languages, your write in English but primarily research in another, etc. Juris-M is a little more complicated to run, but not much more.

  2. ★ Beginner Steps: Setup

  3. Make an account with Zotero.org
    Juris-M uses Zotero's base code and is essentially identical. Except with added functionality for multi-lingual metadata fields
  4. Download and install Juris-M for your browser
  5. Make sure to sync Juris-M with your online Zotero account:
    >> Preferences >> Sync >> Enter your Zotero username and password
  6. Download the Zotero Connector for your browser
    Skip this step if you are using the Firefox Integrated version of Juris-M
  7. Congrats, you have the basic installation of Juris-M set up! You should play around with the software. Try making collections, importing books from your library catalog, PDFs from your preferred databases, exporting bibliographies, and getting a general feel for the variety of things Juris-M can do.


    ★ Intermediate Steps: Plugins

  8. Download or activate the MS Word Plugin
    >> for FireFox
    >> for Juris-M Standalone >> open Juris-M >> >> Preferences >> Cite >> Word Processors
  9. Download and Install Zotfile
  10. Configure which folder on your computer you want Zotfile to monitor for newly downloaded PDFs
    >> ZotFile Preferences >> General Settings >> Source Folder >> "Your system download folder" [recommended]

  11. You now have two of the most covenient plugins. You will need some files books, articles, etc. in your Juris-M library to play around with these. Open MS Word and try out the functions in the new "Zotero" tab, experiment with entering your citations from Juris-M as you type. ZotFile adds new functionality to Juris-M, especially regarding PDF management. Try highlighting text in a PDF and auto-exporting it into a Juris-M note.


    ★ Advanced Steps: File Management

    Only advanced users should consider these options. If you are not comfortable navigating file directories you should not integrate these advanced ZotFile features into your workflow.

  12. Download the supporting software for either GoogleDrive or Dropbox so that it can sync seemlesly with your computer
  13. After you have set up your cloud syncing software, create a new folder in your Dropbox / GoogleDrive directory. Label it something like "research." Do not name the folder for a specific research project you are working on. ALL of your PDFs will be stored here.
  14. Configure Juris-M to use your cloud storage service as the base directory for its library.
    >> Preferences >> Advanced >> Files and Folders >> Base Directory >> [your cloud storage folder]
  15. Configure Zotfile to send your PDFs to your computer's Dropbox or GoogleDrive sync folder
    >> ZotFile Preferences >> Genral Settings >>Location of Files >> [your cloud storage folder]

  16. ★ Juris-M Specific: Support & Languages

  17. Sign up for the Juris-M support list. Since Juris-M is not officially supported by Zotero, this list is the deFacto community for problem solving. Most will be happy signing up for the "Announce" list. But if you want to participate in improving Juris-M, consider joining the "Support" list
  18. Configure your multilingual settings. This can be fairly complicated so read the Multi-Lingual Setup guide.
    >> Preferences >> Languages
  19. You are pretty much done! Try importing books, PDFs, Websites, etc. into Zotero. Create some libraries. Tinker with preferences. Check out the Tips and Tricks section

Japanese & Korean Studies Librarian

Adam Lisbon's picture
Adam Lisbon
Contact:
303-492-8822